Ignoring data when viewing and comparing

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ignoring data when viewing and comparing

Hi,

I was wondering how I could get BC to completely ignore data between 2 unique tags and also not display that data in the UI.

e.g. Hello Wo%$% foo %$%rld -> Hello World

would not be highlighted as different and the left side would simply show "Hello World", not "Hello Wo%$% foo %$%rld" in the UI to the user.

My background is mainly in databases and web languages like Perl and PHP, so I havent had much exposure to C or Delphi.

The idea is that BC will be used to compare old and new data, allowing the user update the database without affecting other peoples updates...almost like a revision system for a database. The info between the unique tags will be result data, which needs to be tied to each line of information.

Any ideas how I might attack this?

Thanks!
  • chrroe
    Pooh-Bah
    • Oct 2007

Re: Ignoring data when viewing and comparing

Hi!

As far as I know, BC is not able to hide any part of lines in the fileviewer.
    One approach might be to write a conversion-batch-file for that type of files. In that batch you must use a program which is able to temporarily manipulate the files in that way which you want.

Look at these two pages, maybe there is a helpful application:

http://www.tinyapps.org

http://gnuwin32.sourceforge.net

Bye
    Christoph

Comment

Thanks for that, I managed to find Exam Diff Pro which supports the ignorance of lines and part of lines matching regular expressions...however the problem is everyone will have to have this installed under license...we have BC installed as standard on all machines, so theres the money issue and the versatility of it as well.

Is there no way a plugin for BC could address even part of the problem? For example, display everything in the UI but just ignore parts of lines that match a regex, & not highlight it?

Thanks for you help!

Comment

• Ernie
        Fanatic