Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    25

    Post Suggestion:: White Space Only For Two Lines At buttom

    Hi,
    Here is a suggestion that would be usefull for me, and I hope for others as well.

    A "Visible Whitespace" option for two bottom line horizontal compare only!

    That would be really useful in non cluttering the main view, but when you need more details in the bottom of the views, they are available.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    Interesting idea... maybe in the right-click context menu right next to the ruler toggle?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Excellent Idea. Could be at in the context menu, just below the ruler. And toggling On and Off the "Visible Whitespace" from the menu bar only affects the 2 main panes.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    I would love to hear Scooter Soft on this issue. What do you guys make of it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    786

    Default

    I'm thinking about it.
    Tim T Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jobol View Post
    And toggling On and Off the "Visible Whitespace" from the menu bar only affects the 2 main panes.
    I would expect the functionality to be one of the two options below:

    1) The visible whitespace toggle on the toolbar toggles white space on or off everywhere, and the Text Details toggle to only toggle visible whitespace in the text details. Not all users will want to change whitespace one place and not the other. Nor will they want to have to toggle two places to get visible whitespace both places. Advanced users that want to use the Text Details visible whitespaces toggle will probably be the minority.

    In other words, if Text Details has whitespace showing and the main compare panels do not, then the visible whitespace toggle on the main toolbar would turn on visible whitespace for the main panels and turn it off for the text details. Clicking it again would turn off visible whitespace in the main panels and turn it back on in the Text Details.

    or

    2) The Text compare toggle is an override. If it is on, then whitespace in the Text Details is always stays on even if the user toggles the visible whitespace from the toolbar. If it is off, then the visible whitespace in the text details toggles along with everything else when the toolbar toggle is used.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    786

    Default

    Thanks, guys. We had settled on something like Michael's #2 suggestion.
    Tim T Scooter Software

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    25

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael Bulgrien View Post
    I would expect the functionality to be one of the two options below:

    1) The visible whitespace toggle on the toolbar toggles white space on or off everywhere, and the Text Details toggle to only toggle visible whitespace in the text details. Not all users will want to change whitespace one place and not the other. Nor will they want to have to toggle two places to get visible whitespace both places. Advanced users that want to use the Text Details visible whitespaces toggle will probably be the minority.

    In other words, if Text Details has whitespace showing and the main compare panels do not, then the visible whitespace toggle on the main toolbar would turn on visible whitespace for the main panels and turn it off for the text details. Clicking it again would turn off visible whitespace in the main panels and turn it back on in the Text Details.

    or

    2) The Text compare toggle is an override. If it is on, then whitespace in the Text Details is always stays on even if the user toggles the visible whitespace from the tool bar. If it is off, then the visible whitespace in the text details toggles along with everything else when the toolbar toggle is used.
    IF I absolutely had to choose from these 2 choices, number 2 is my favorite, although I don't like either.

    I would have had personally 2 independent toggles, because I will NOT see myself turning off the visible space in the bottom text compare pane often but a lot more often in the main panes, and this toggle independence give me the flexibility to toggle the main 2 panes to my hearts contents without affecting the bottom panes space visibility.

    Or, here is another idea that should make all users happy, a button next to the toggle white space tool bar entry that will allow you to "link" toggable behavior of both the details and the main view together, so the toggle behave like it does now. You unlink the two, and you have the option of toggeling either seperatly. In that link, the main view toggle is the master and the details is the slave.

    So for example, you set them up as "unlinked visible whitespace" (the link button is not active), and the bottom text is showing spaces and the main windows not showing spaces, hitting the "link" button, will remove the white spaces from the bottom view, since the main pane's visibility status is the master and it is turned off.

    On the other hand, if you had the link button not selected, and the details are not showing white spaces, but the main views are, "linking them" (hitting link button) will add spaces to the details view, since the master's state is Space Visible = true.

    When the visibile white spaces is linked ("link whitespace visibility" button selected), the additional "white space toggle" entry in the contextual menu of the two lines detail view at the bottom would be grayed out.

    Now if you "unlink" them, there is 2 options, either that the line details pane remember the last setting before the link and comes back to it, or assumes the visibility status of the current toolbar visible white space status. The second way is less confusing, the first is more "flexible". It is no biggie really and either way will do.

    The application starts with the link button selected, so the behavior is exactly like it is now


    Here is what I am talking about. Pardon my paint skills.



    Tell me what you think!
    Last edited by Jobol; 14-Dec-2007 at 03:48 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Hey guys, no reply on my suggestion above?

    Is it my picaso-like skilles that turned you off?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    786

    Default

    Sorry I wasn't more definitive in my last post -- We had already changed the behavior Friday morning. I appreciate your suggestion, but I think adding another toolbutton would be over-designing the issue.
    Tim T Scooter Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •