Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    15

    Default No cursor in Full Edit or Text Edit mode

    If I try to edit a file in Full Edit mode I cannot see a cursor in either the left or right hand window of a Text Compare session. If I switch to Text Edit mode, again no cursor. I do get a cursor in the small window which displays the current line though. The Windows version works as it should and as my only desktop now runs Linux, I need this to work properly.

    Is this a bug or a problem with my Linux installation? I see this on both Ubuntu 10.04 and 10.10 using build 13046.

    Is anyone else seeing this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    116

    Default

    There has been one other report of this so far. However, I have not been able to repeat it here yet. The other user did report that he had compiz running. I have tried without compiz and with compiz on Ubuntu 10.04 and 10.10 and have not seen it. But I would be interested to know if you also have compiz running.

    David
    David J Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thanks for your reply David. I'm sorry I couldn't reply earlier but I've not had much time to look at this problem. Yes, I do have compiz running but any attempt to stop it has resulted in some unusual display problems. I don't know what I'm doing wrong!

    However, on one occasion I did see a non-flashing cursor in the right hand pane but I could not move it in any direction. I'll try and gather some more information for you over the holiday period.
    Last edited by g4mby; 27-Dec-2010 at 03:31 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    15

    Unhappy

    Sorry for not replying earlier but my Linux installations have gone through many changes over the last few months. I'm now using Kubuntu 11.04 fully updated to what is probably now beta 2. No compiz, no cursor. As no-one has updated this thread since Christmas it seems that its not a common problem.

    So, I guess it may well be the end of the line for me here as BC is virtually unusable for editing text comparisons. I still have BC installed on my Windows laptop but its not so easy and convenient to use and I try to use my Linux desktop in preference to my Windows laptop when at home.

    Any developments at Scooter Software regarding this bug?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Hello,

    When you installed your OS upgrades, did you perform clean installations or did you perform upgrade installs. Going from Ubuntu to Kubuntu, I would assume a clean install, but I would just like to verify.

    Also, what kind of graphics card are you currently using and which driver version? Have you been updating your graphics drivers as well?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Hello,

    When you installed your OS upgrades, did you perform clean installations or did you perform upgrade installs. Going from Ubuntu to Kubuntu, I would assume a clean install, but I would just like to verify.

    Also, what kind of graphics card are you currently using and which driver version? Have you been updating your graphics drivers as well?
    Thanks for your reply Aaron.

    My current installation was on a newly formatted drive. Previous installations were likewise, I've never actually upgraded from one version to another. The Maverick installation that I had was also a new install and always kept up to date. My graphics card is an ATI HD4350 using Kubuntu's own drivers. The proprietary AMD/ATI drivers are not always compatible with the current release or perform strangely at times, for instance not displaying the start-up and shut-down screens correctly, so I don't use them.

    Unfortunately BC is the only application that is giving me this problem on what is a very stable and reliable OS.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Hi,

    I am wondering if you also have trouble with focus shifting to dialog windows. For example in a text edit session if you open up a 'find dialog' (Ctrl-F) does the focus automatically shift to the "text to find" edit box? Or do you have to mouse click in that edit box to be able to make changes? The other customer that is having caret issues also has these focus issues. I am wondering if the two of you are seeing the same thing.

    Thanks

    David Jenkins
    David J Scooter Software

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    For example in a text edit session if you open up a 'find dialog' (Ctrl-F) does the focus automatically shift to the "text to find" edit box?
    Yes, the focus shifts to the find dialog and any text inserted into it automatically is immediately editable.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    116

    Default

    There is a version with a bunch of debug messages at

    EDIT: (broken link. Please email support@scootersoftware.com and include link to this forum post for assistance.)

    This untars/unzips to a BCompare binary file. Rename /usr/lib/beyondcompare/BCompare to /usr/lib/beyondcompare/BCompare.orig. Move the debug version to /usr/lib/beyondcompare/BCompare. From console prompt do
    >> export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/beyondcompare
    >> BCompare

    Then do a text compare session. This should display some text message in the console as the caret is turned on and off. If you could try this file, capture the output, and forward it on to me (David@scootersoftware.com) that would be great. Thanks

    David
    Last edited by Aaron; 15-Apr-2011 at 03:42 PM. Reason: Removing broken link.
    David J Scooter Software

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    15

    Question

    It seems I need a username and password to access your ftp site.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •