Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,154

    Default 13046 Strange sync result display since recent upgrade

    Why since upgrade from 12204 does a sync leave my files still displayed, showing black question marks? And why does the (unlabelled) central drop-down box say Custom instead of Update Right?

    12204:


    13046:


    This session is launched by:
    start "" "%PROGRAMFILES%\Beyond Compare 3\BCompare.exe" /solo /sync /filters=*.htm*;*.php;-*\ "%~dp0" "ftp://chrisjj@ftp.cjj1.com/public_html/chrisjj/tango/cjjsets"

    I'll revert to 12204 until this is solved.
    Last edited by chrisjj; 14-Dec-2010 at 07:41 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    We are experiancing the same problems on our end. Your scenarios matches ours, which shows that there are differences in filesizes on the local vs. remote. You'll notice there are very small but noticable size differences. Since the filesizes were the same in previous builds and the enviroments are exact replicas, I would imagine that there has been a bug introduced into the comparison engine. We've tried various comparison options such as binary, crc and unchecking the compare file size differences, checking the override quick test results, etc and nothing seems to work.

    Thanks,
    Roy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,503

    Default

    In 3.2 we added an extra sync option of "Prompt" that's used for files that have conflicting changes, rather than the previous default of "Leave alone". It still doesn't sync any of those, but does make them visible so you can decide for yourself what to do. For each file you can right click and pick the appropriate sync action.

    The fact that the sync type isn't showing correctly is just a UI glitch. It's still doing the correct action, and we'll have a new build out soon that fixes it.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    Thanks Roy and Craig.

    In 3.2 we added an extra sync option of "Prompt" that's used for files that have conflicting changes, rather than the previous default of "Leave alone".
    Added options are no problem, but are you saying you changed the default?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisjj View Post
    are you saying you changed the default?
    Yes. Prompt doesn't do anything but make them visible, so there's no change in actual synching behavior.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    Yes.
    Thanks. Where is the changelog for this version, please? The download page for this version 13046 http://www.scootersoftware.com/download.php links to a changelog http://www.scootersoftware.com/ChangeLog.txt that fails to include this version.
    Last edited by chrisjj; 21-Dec-2010 at 09:21 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    786

    Default

    The ChangeLog.txt file apparently has a typo. We'll get that fixed.
    Tim T Scooter Software

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    Indeed http://www.scootersoftware.com/ChangeLog.txt now says v3.2.3.13046 December 9, 2010. Thanks.

    Where is the above-mentioned change to default behaviour, please? I see nothing like this in the Folder Sync changes between 12204 and 13046:

    v3.2.3.13046 December 9, 2010

    - Folder Sync
    - Fixed "Update Left" and "Update Right" sessions from 3.1 and earlier
    incorrectly copying orphans to the source side.

    v3.2.2.13000 December 6, 2010

    - Folder Sync
    - Added ability to override sync actions on a per-item basis.
    - Added "Next/Previous Conflict" commands, replacing "Next/Previous
    Difference".
    - "Expand subfolders when loading session" is now enabled by default.
    - Fixed "Nothing to Sync" appearing after sync has completed.
    - Tweaked "Session Settings" dialog layout and options:
    - Moved "Sync empty folders" and "Use recycle bin if possible" from "Sync"
    tab to "Handling" tab.
    - Removed "Only expand subfolders with differences" option.
    - Condensed "Archive handling" radio group to a "Synchronize within
    archives" checkbox.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,384

    Default

    This is still something we are working out. In the meantime, if there is default behavior you would like to use, please set it in the Home screen's Folder Sync defaults, or per saved session.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Where is the above-mentioned change to default behaviour, please? I see nothing like this in the Folder Sync changes between 12204 and 13046
    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    This is still something we are working out.
    Sorry to be unclear. I meant where is the changelog entry for the by-design change to default behaviour mentioned above.
    Last edited by chrisjj; 23-Dec-2010 at 06:00 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •