Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,179

    Default 12204 Incorrect error message

    If I use "Move to folder" on a file of the same name as a folder in the destination folder, BC says

    The target folder already contains a file named 'test'.

    even though there is no such file.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,899

    Default

    Thanks for the report, Chris.

    Are you able to perform the same steps using Windows Explorer? If not, what kind of error message do you receive?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,179

    Default

    Aaron, it is a simple mistake in the BC error message. "file" when the offender is in fact a folder.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,899

    Default

    I've made a tracker entry for the behavior I'm seeing in office.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,179

    Default

    And that's the same as I reported seeing here?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,899

    Default

    Assuming you are also seeing the same behavior in Windows Explorer that I am seeing, yes.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,179

    Default

    My report is about BC, not WE. So if you are seeing "the same as I reported seeing here", that's also in BC, not WE.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisjj View Post
    My report is about BC, not WE. So if you are seeing "the same as I reported seeing here", that's also in BC, not WE.
    Note that Aaron did ask if you had tried the same copy in WE. That's not a random question, as BC uses the underlying OS code that WE uses, so it is helpful to determine what behavior is unique to BC and what is shared with WE.

    /dps

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,179

    Default

    Relevent only to the fix, not the problem, surely.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    I would think that it would be quicker for either side to simply do the test instead of all this back and forth banter.

    WE under Windows 7 says: "There is already a folder with the same name as the file name you specified. Specify a different name."

    BC under Windows 7 says: "Unable to move <filepath>: Cannot create a file when that file already exists"
    Last edited by Michael Bulgrien; 03-Dec-2010 at 11:34 AM.
    BC v4.0.7 build 19761
    ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •