Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,158

    Default Actualising a filter change

    Is there a single command that updates the Only Compare Files (sic*) display to reflect a change in Filters:? Currently I use Edit | Expand All, then Edit | Collapse All.

    Thanks.

    * I think this label should be Compare Only Files - a different meaning and the one that accords with program behaviour.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    786

    Default

    Changing name filters should take effect immediately. There seems to be a bug that prevents the file counts in the statusbar to be updated if you happen to be positioned on a folder when the filter changes. Is this what you are referring to?
    Tim T Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,158

    Default

    No. I change the filter to e.g. *.GIF such that folders containing no *.GIF will be hidden.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Hello Chris,

    In the Folder Compare, under the View menu, there are 4 options:
    Always Show Folders
    Compare Files and Folder Structure
    Compare Files only
    Ignore Folder structure.

    Are you using the Compare Files only option? This option will hide folders if all the files inside are filtered out, or the folder is empty. Edit: This option behaves like BC2.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,158

    Default

    > In the Folder Compare, under the View menu, there are 4 options:
    > Always Show Folders
    > Compare Files and Folder Structure
    > Compare Files only

    "Only Compare Files" here.

    > Are you using the Compare Files only option?

    As I said in the root, I am using "Only Compare Files".

    > This option will hide folders if all the files inside are filtered out

    That is what I am trying to get the refresh to do.
    Last edited by chrisjj; 15-Oct-2009 at 04:25 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Could you post or email a screenshot to support@scootersoftware.com ?

    With that folder option set to Only Compare Files, and all items inside the folder are filtered out, the folder itself should disappear if it is not aligned to a folder that is still present.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,158

    Default

    >Could you post or email a screenshot

    Will two do?

    1 Set Filters: to *.wav
    2 See:

    3 Expand, Collapse
    4 See:


    > With that folder option set to Only Compare Files, and all items inside the
    > folder are filtered out, the folder itself should disappear ...

    In this case it does so only upon Expand, Collapse.
    Last edited by chrisjj; 15-Oct-2009 at 04:34 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Thanks for the screenshots. The Yellow color implies they are not scanned yet, and are not scheduled to be scanned due to the current Session Settings (otherwise, if they were scheduled they would be White/Transparant). Expanding or Double clicking them is triggering a manual scan.

    Try going to the Session Settings, Handling, and enable "Scan top level Orphan folders" as well as "Automatically scan subfolders in the background". Does that work for you?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,158

    Default

    > Expanding or Double clicking them is triggering a manual scan.

    Yup. And I'm asking if there is a one-click trigger.

    > Try going to the Session Settings, Handling, and enable "Scan top level
    > Orphan folders" as well as "Automatically scan subfolders in the background".

    I have

    [X] Automatically scan subfolders in background
    . .[ ]Automatically scan top-level orphan subfolders

    Why is that proving insufficient?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisjj View Post
    >
    I have

    [X] Automatically scan subfolders in background
    . .[ ]Automatically scan top-level orphan subfolders

    Why is that proving insufficient?

    Because the yellow folders in your screenshots are Orphans at the top level. The default Session settings for Beyond Compare do not open and scan Orphan folders since there is nothing to compare against. You can easily change this default behavior if you want it to scan them to by checking to Automatically scan and selecting Also Update Session Defaults.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •