Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10

    Question How getting the merge line in MKS?

    Hello,

    Found this thread with instructions how to integrate Beyond compare in MKS Version Control System.
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/vbull...ead.php?t=4181

    The merging works fine, but if I use the (poor) MKS internal merge tool I get a merge line between the merged Versions. (Which is quite helpful to see the development of the file)

    Is there a possibility to get this line also with BC ?

    I am using BC 3 and MKS 2006

    Thanks
    Markus

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,783

    Default

    Hello,

    We also have this KB article, which should contain a summary of the instructions:
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo...?zz=kb_vcs.php

    Could you go into more detail on what a Merge Line is? Is this a line of text that is inserted by MKS that contains some additional notes or information?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default MKS Merge Line

    Hello Aron,

    Sorry for my late reply but I was very busy the last days.

    I think the best is to explain it with an example.
    In the attached file the Version 1.55.1.5 is merged with 1.56.
    The line between this Versions occurs if I use the MKS internal merge tool.
    If I use BC it is not created.
    Maybe that MKS needs somehow a feedback. Maybe that it is not possible.


    My current workaround is to start the Internal tool, and merge just one simple difference and save the target file. Then the line is created. After that I use BC and compare/ merge the rest of the file.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    Hmmm... It's still not clear to me what a "merge line" is. The attached picture doesn't look like a merged file...nor does it look like output from a merge tool. It looks like a high-level version control representation of the version history of a branched file that was later merged back into the main file. Version control software should represent the file versioning control in the same way regardless of what merge tool is actually used for the text merge itself. If it doesn't then perhaps it hasn't been configured properly???

    During a manual text merge/compare other tools often show offset blocks of code with lines between the corresponding sections on each side of the compare. If that is what is meant by a merge line, one of the reasons I prefer Beyond Compare is their clean, always-aligned view that doesn't require reference lines between the two sides. If, one day, Beyond Compare starts to support multi-line match recognition (same text on both sides but broken up differently into separate lines) and/or line wrapping, then I would expect to see some type of indicator to tie matched text together. Until then, I prefer the clean look that Beyond Compare has today.

    If, by merge line, you mean something entirely different, then please explain it further...and how you would envision Beyond Compare using it...because your mention of it has raised my interest as well.
    BC v4.0.7 build 19761
    ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    [QUOTE=Michael Bulgrien;19940]Hmmm... It's still not clear to me what a "merge line" is. The attached picture doesn't look like a merged file...nor does it look like output from a merge tool. It looks like a high-level version control representation of the version history of a branched file that was later merged back into the main file. Version control software should represent the file versioning control in the same way regardless of what merge tool is actually used for the text merge itself. If it doesn't then perhaps it hasn't been configured properly???
    QUOTE]

    Hello Michael,
    you are right. The merge line is shown in a graphical overview of the file history. I also expected that it should be shown by the version control software ( in this case MKS) independen from the used tool, but unfortunately it does not.

    I thing that the reason for this behavior is located in MKS. I also started a support request at MKS. But until now there is no reply.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,783

    Default

    Hello,

    With a quick google search I stumbled across this:
    http://interactiveasp.net/blogs/spgi...se-kdiff3.aspx

    It mentions a Beyond Compare option in the dropdown box shown in their screenshot. Does this option exist for you in either Diff or Merge? As the article mentions, are you writing to the Working File?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hello Aaron,

    I Have the dropdown Boxes, but there only BC2 not BC 3 is offered.
    Therefore I Can not use it. ( I have MKS 2006 , may be this will change with MKS 2009)
    Therefore I am using the command line as mentioned above.

    Yes I am writing to the working file.

    Best Regards
    Markus

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,783

    Default

    Could you email a screenshot of your configuration window in MKS to support@scootersoftware.com ?
    Please include a link back to this forum post.

    Or, you could post here if you are comfortable posting the information publically.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hello Aron,

    I am out of office until the 4th of August. I will post the requested things when I am back in office.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    23

    Smile

    Markus,

    it's a MKS problem. I guess that MKS doesn't handle the exit codes of external merge tools.

    Some MKS updates ago it doesn't work at our site, either.
    Since one of our last MKS updates the merge-lines now are created.

    What exact Version of MKS do you use?

    We're currently using MKS Integrity Client 2007, Build: 4.9.0.47.45, Service-Pack:009-01. (Most recent version).

    Best regards,
    Alex

    P.S.:
    (1) Besides the correct version of MKS-Client, MKS-Client only creates a merge line when the external merge tool has changed the working file. So I always change something in the merge-result window (e.g. add and remove a white space) and hit the save-button in the right bottom area of BC3-Pro. This works.

    (2) My settings are equal to the ones in the instructions as posted earlier (I've posted them originally):
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/support.php?zz=kb_vcs
    Last edited by AlexMannW; 11-Aug-2009 at 11:39 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •