Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    > Aaron was mistaken when he said that.

    Thanks for that clarification.

    > the issue with empty error messages when you did get an error.
    > That will be fixed in the next release.

    Thanks.

    In case it helps, here's an instance in which the line following the error message is /not/ blank:

    http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/3138/71912264.gif

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisjj View Post
    In case it helps, here's an instance in which the line following the error message is /not/ blank:
    In that case it's just two lines later instead of one, and that likely just means that the background thread interacted with the log's display a little differently. If you had two connections going their commands can be shown as interleaved too.

    In any case, I was able to get OS X 10.3 running here and was able to reproduce the error. It is related to the character encoding used by the connection. The blank error messages should be fixed in the next release, but like I said previously, you will need to change your encoding in order to actually upload those files.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    > In that case it's just two lines later instead of one, and that likely just means
    > that the background thread interacted with the log's display a little differently.

    It might help if those blank lines were tagged like the regular lines. Currently there's not even an indication of which direction they are going in.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,503

    Default

    I guess I never described what's actually going on. Internally the "blank" lines have contents, along the lines of:

    2009-07-27 22:20:36 Unable to copy Carlos[...].htm: Invalid argument

    The problem is that when we try to draw that line we have to convert that from UTF-8 to UTF-16, and the conversion fails, so no text is drawn. If you save the log to a file and open it in an editor it should show the missing line. So, we can't add anything to the line to make it obvious what's going on, since that won't show up either.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    > I guess I never described what's actually going on.

    I guess you're right!

    > If you save the log to a file and open it in an editor it should show the missing line.

    It does. Useful workaround - thanks.

    BTW, you might like to know Copy to Clipboard silently fails if the selection includes one of these bogus blank lines.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,154

    Default

    > and that likely just means that the background thread interacted with the log's display a little
    > differently. If you had two connections going their commands can be shown as interleaved too.

    FTR, Simultaneous connections was set to 1.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •