X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ZLA
    New User
    • Jun 2009

Local vs FTP Settings

I'm still learning about the various Beyond Compare (BC3) comparison options. I'm wondering if anyone has a good set of settings that work well in comparing files when comparing local dev files to a remote (ftp) hosting environment. The issues I've run into are:
    • I can't use Quick Test timestamp since uploaded files are always newer than local files. Is there a way to only look for newer source files?
    • I can't use filesize comparison because many uploaded files are off by 2 bytes even though there are no visual differences when I compare them side by side in BC3.
    • In the Folder Compare display, using Ignore Unimportant Differences still shows files that are a match except for the 2 byte file differences.
    • Is there any way to speed up the overall content comparison? Perhaps by only selecting files changed since a given date or some other tricks?

Thank you if you can help me out.
  • Aaron
    Team Scooter
    • Oct 2007

Hello ZLA,

1) You can filter on specific file types by using name filters (Session menu -> Session Settings: Name filters). For source files this would be whatever extension they use: *.java;*.cpp etc.
    If the timestamps are consistantly off by a certain amount of time, you can change the time tolerance under the Comparison tab.

Also, if you can verify the files are the same content-wise once, you can then Touch the files (either local or FTP) so the timestamps match exactly. From then on, you could use Timestamp comparisons.

2) If filesize is different, and filesize is a comparison criteria, then it will mark the files as different. You may find this KB article helpful:
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo...pdifferent.php