X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • a_bc_user
    Journeyman
    • Jun 2009

Identical files mislabeled as orphans?

Hi - I am new to BC3 so please bear with me. Consider the attached screenshot. Why are these files on both sides being labelled as Orphans (blue) when they seem as identical to each other as ones BC3 usually finds to be the Same (black)?
  • Zoë
    Team Scooter
    • Oct 2007

If you use the Tools->Save Snapshot command to save snapshots of each side and then compare those instead of the original folders, does it still produce the misalignment? If so, attach them here or email them to [email protected] and I'll take a look.
    Zoë P Scooter Software

Comment

• Zoë
      Team Scooter
      • Oct 2007

Thanks for the snapshots. Your files are misaligning because the ones in E:\MP3s\celtic have a space before the first "-" and the ones in E:\MP3s\Music\Habib\MP3s\celtic do not. BC will preserve leading whitespace when it copies files; it doesn't look like Explorer does.
      Zoë P Scooter Software

Comment

• a_bc_user
        Journeyman
        • Jun 2009

Well spotted, Eagle Eye Craig! I have to squint very hard to see it, but yes it does seem a few pixels difference between the start of the filenames in both BC and Explorer.

It's reassuring to know BC is so accurate, but accurate isn't always practical. So assuming there are thousands of files with this minor discrepancy and impossible to rename manually, what is a solution to having them get identified as identical? Is there a certain Rule or other setting tweak in BC3 to ignore/adjust these filenames accordingly when comparing, or is there a 3rd party tool which you would recommend using in conjunction with BC3 to batch rename them in bulk before comparing?

Comment

• Zoë
          Team Scooter
          • Oct 2007

There are two ways to handle this within BC: