Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,677

    Default BC3 as diff/merge tool on Linux instructions updated

    I posted updated instructions for using BC3 for Linux as a diff and merge tool with Git in our knowledgebase article Using Beyond Compare with Version Control Systems.

    The previous instructions worked correctly for diff, but required a small change to work correctly for merge. Once configured following the instructions at the above link, you can launch a merge in BC3 using the command "git mergetool filename.txt".

    The system used to test the instructions was running Ubuntu 9.0.4, Git 1.6.0.4, and BC3 for Linux 3.1.3.
    Last edited by Chris; 03-Jun-2009 at 09:18 AM. Reason: Added test system configuration.
    Chris K Scooter Software

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    25

    Default

    This should be updated again as modern msysgit now support BC3 built-in, see git-mergetool.html in their documentation:

    Valid merge tools are: araxis, bc3, diffuse, ecmerge, emerge, gvimdiff, kdiff3, meld, opendiff, p4merge, tkdiff, tortoisemerge, vimdiff and xxdiff.
    There is still a glitch as it calls BCompare.exe and not BComp.com but changing the local Git setting will have no effect for bc3 as it's already built-in the system.

    So in short, for current msysgit, simple do:

    Code:
    git config --global diff.tool bc3
    git config --global merge.tool bc3

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Hello,

    Our Git for Windows instructions were recently updated just a few days ago with this change. It also includes the "mergetool.bc3.path" to point to bcomp.exe. Would this behave as you expect?
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo...vcs#gitwindows
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi, I used the instructions for Subversion diff on Linux (Ubuntu 12.04)
    /usr/bin/bcompare "$6" "$7" -title1="$3" -title2="\"$5\"" -readonly
    but it did not work, BC3 opened in merge mode.
    /usr/bin/bcompare "$6" "$7" -title1="$3" -title2="$5" -readonly
    works better. What are the extra quotes for?
    /Tomas

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Hello,

    It is a method of passing actual " characters along the command line (each \" is equal to ", then that itself is surrounded by ").

    It is likely depending on your version of Linux, you might need one or the other method. For Ubuntu 12.04, it would seem you only need the simpler "$p" definition.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I followed the instructions for installing beyond compare for git difftool here: http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo...?zz=kb_vcs.php

    The problem is that when I type:
    $ git difftool filename.txt

    Beyond compare does not work.

    I tried looking up this problem on stack overflow: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2...beyond-compare

    The solution is for windows not for linux.

    Any ideas?

    git version 2.11.0
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Hello,

    What error are you currently seeing when you type "git difftool filename.txt" with the new .gitconfig?

    If you've edited your .gitconfig, you want to be certain that any process using it is closed. For troubleshooting purposes, it may be easiest to restart your computer to be sure the current .gitconfig settings are used during the git difftool call to "bc3"

    If you are still having trouble, can you post or email your current .gitconfig? If emailed, please send to support@scootersoftware.com with a link back to this forum thread.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Hello,

    What error are you currently seeing when you type "git difftool filename.txt" with the new .gitconfig?

    If you've edited your .gitconfig, you want to be certain that any process using it is closed. For troubleshooting purposes, it may be easiest to restart your computer to be sure the current .gitconfig settings are used during the git difftool call to "bc3"

    If you are still having trouble, can you post or email your current .gitconfig? If emailed, please send to support@scootersoftware.com with a link back to this forum thread.
    That's the problem. I don't get any response at all from beyond campare

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Hello,

    Could you post or email a copy of your full .gitconfig? If emailed, please include a link back to this forum thread.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •