Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: BC3 on Gentoo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default BC3 on Gentoo

    I've created an ebuild to install BC3 on Gentoo. I've been using it for daily development and it works well.

    You can find the ebuild in my git overlay at:
    https://git.lightning.homelinux.com/....git;a=summary

    If you use layman, add the following line to the "overlays:" property in /etc/layman/layman.cfg :
    https://git.lightning.homelinux.com/...ng-overlay.xml
    and then run layman -a jeckhart-overlay

    Hope this helps everyone.

    John
    Last edited by Ender; 21-Jul-2008 at 08:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Nice work, I just skimmed over it and noticed that you have a dependency on the immodule patch. This is no longer necessary and was confirmed by Samo in your other thread.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Okay, great. I've updated the ebuild to remove the dependency checks for immodule. I am sure many people will be thankful to not have to recompile their QT libs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    39

    Default

    The ebuild is a great idea, however, I can't install it on my system (using portage 2.2rc1). I get this error when I try to emerge bcompare:

    !!! Invalid or corrupt dependency specification:

    missing space by parenthesis: '(x'

    ('ebuild', '/', 'dev-util/bcompare-3.0.0.462', 'merge')

    x86? (x11-libs/qt:3) amd64? (app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-qtlibs)

    This package can not be installed. Please notify the
    'dev-util/bcompare-3.0.0.462' package maintainer about this problem.

    Can you help?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Zaister,
    I've updated the ebuilds with spaces. I'm not running portage 2.2 so I've no way to try them. Let me know if they work.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Added ebuild for 463 in git now. Sync your overlays and update.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Weird, it seems now I cannot reach your server:

    * Running command "/usr/bin/git clone "git://lightning.homelinux.com/jeckhart-overlay.git/" "/usr/portage/local/layman/jeckhart-overlay""...
    Initialized empty Git repository in /usr/portage/local/layman/jeckhart-overlay/.git/
    lightning.homelinux.com[0: 68.199.74.237]: errno=Connection refused
    fatal: unable to connect a socket (Connection refused)
    * Failed to add overlay "jeckhart-overlay".
    * Error was: Directory /usr/portage/local/layman/jeckhart-overlay does not exist. Cannot remove the overlay!

    Is that IP I get correct?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Apologies, the git-daemon had died. I've restarted it, you should be able to get to it again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    39

    Default

    It's wrking perfectly now, thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default Beyond Compare 3 is now available

    Added Beyond Compare 3.0.0.8507 to my overlay, the first officially supported release for Linux! Sync your overlays and enjoy.

    Jacques,
    More of a curiosity question, why did you change the way you launch BCompare in the bcompare.sh file?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •