Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 50 of 50
  1. #41
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    73

    Default

    More ranting about "Refreshing" --

    Using File Compare, I compare 5 local drives, aggregated under one directory as junction points, against a BCSS file of a similar 5 remote drives (also aggregated under one directory as junction points). Total number of files is about 1,167,000. It takes about 40 minutes to do the initial compare (this is on an admittedly slow machine -- essentially a WinXP NAS). I end up with a list of files on the left (local) system that are not on the right (remote BCSS) system. I expand the list and Select All Files, hit Shift Left Arrow to select only the files on the left, and click on Copy To (to copy to a transfer drive).

    Now, the screen already shows the exact name of each file to be copied, and I presume that under the hood BC3 has the full path of each file (or can easily generate it), so copying should be able to commence immediately -- just copy each highlighted file of the expanded list on the left. But no -- Refreshing starts that takes LONGER than the initial comparison.

    Something is broken.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,908

    Default

    We are looking into the different accounts of refreshing issues, but it is important to note that not all users are running into the same issues. Please read over this thread as some users have submitted ideas that have helped them, and others have helped explain what you may be running into.

    The BC3 combined refreshing stage + copy is most often faster than BC2. It is not just checking for file location, but any file flags such as Read-Only. BC2 performed this check on each file during the transfer, so the entire transfer not only took longer, but if it hit a conflict on any particular file it would cause a dialog prompt to come up at that time. This would stop the transfer until a user interacted with the program. BC3 front loads the checking, so any user interaction needed is presented as soon as it can be. By front loading it, the overall process also takes a shorter amount of time. BC3's "Check All, then Copy All" is quicker than "Check,Copy,Check,Copy,Check,Copy". If you perform this workflow with BC2, and then BC3, and then BC2 again (multiple tests help negate the benefit of cached files), which is faster for you?

    You mention your left side is a local side, and that your right side is a BCSS (Beyond Compare Snapshot). Are you using the Copy To Folder command after selecting your Left Side files? Or are you changing the Right Side to be a new destination, and then copying to it with the Copy To Other Side command?

    Let us know if you have any questions.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  3. #43
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    You mention your left side is a local side, and that your right side is a BCSS (Beyond Compare Snapshot). Are you using the Copy To Folder command after selecting your Left Side files? Or are you changing the Right Side to be a new destination, and then copying to it with the Copy To Other Side command?
    I use the Copy to Folder command after selecting left side files that do not exist in, or are newer than, the right side snapshot. The destination disk is then used to update the remote system by physically carrying it to the remote location and copying the new/changed files to the remote system. (The Internet link between the local and remote systems is about 500 MB/hour, and the remote site is 15 minutes away; over the course of a few days, the total changes may be 50-100 GB, so sneakernet is faster and less irritating than the Internet link).

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default When refreshing takes longer than I have time

    My problem is that refreshing takes longer than the time I have. When I am at the office I have a couple of hours to let it copy. Afterwards I need to close my notebook and go working at a customer's office etc. BC2 had a lot of the job done that way and I could do the rest when I was back in the office (of course needing another comparison but that really seems to be much faster than that "Refreshing..."). BC3 always starts over refreshing and therefore it's always refreshing but never actually copying something.

    Of course I can copy the few files I really changed by hand. But whenever I got a new notebook (which is the case right now) I have a real problem. I started copying the data from the old machine a week ago and there are still over 100'000 files left (I have a lot of source codes from PHP-projects like vtiger, egroupware, gallery etc. made of millions of tiny files, in several copies customised for different customers).

    I can't copy the whole stuff with Windows Explorer the first time because there is for sure one file somewhere in those 40GB of stuff which fails and makes Explorer stop.

    The really ugly thing is that "Refreshing..." is completely blocking every other action. I can't copy a single file while that task is running. It seems like I can't even cancel any operation. The program is perfectly responsive but I can only use it as a read-only-filebrowser during that time :-(

    Regards
    Peter

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Posts
    356

    Default

    Did you try to use a new tab/window/instance (/solo-switch starts a seperate BC)? I sometimes used this to do some work on the same directories when a task takes long time.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,525

    Default

    Peter,

    Try using the "Folder Sync" command instead of the "Folder Compare" view. The sync doesn't have the refreshing stage.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    New tab doesn't help much. Well, many concurrent disk operations at once aren't helpful anyway. I'll try the Folder Sync now. I used "Compare" because that was what I got when I imported my old settings from BC2.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Well, it needs some tuning because there's stuff at the fileserver I don't need on the notebook, but I guess I can make it work that way.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy BC3 slower than BC2

    This is true, everything I do in BC3 is way slower than in BC2. This has been true of all versions since BC3 was first released.

    In BC2 I could select a set of folder to sync and it would start it right away, even if all the other folders are not refreshed yet. It waits forever to get started in BC3, maybe for all the other folders to refresh. It's a pain because the directories I need to sync are multi GB., though usually only 10's or 100's of MB have changed.

    I also will go back to BC2 since there is nothing in BC3 I particularly need.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,525

    Default

    For anyone monitoring this thread, the issue should be resolved now that v3.1 is out.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •