Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    James Clark Guest

    Default [Bug] Memory leak detected

    I have a bug that is quite reproducible in build 439, that is probably something to do with threads/timing.

    I have a single-core CPU (Pentium4), with another process running to consume 100% CPU, I open Cirrus to view changes in a file (via Code Co-op), then press ESC to close Cirrus. Most of the time, I get a warning message box saying:

    "This application has leaked memory. The small block leaks are (excluding expected leaks registered by pointer):

    21-28 bytes: TAutoCompleteURLFilter x 1"

    Then on OKing this, I get another message box:

    "FastMM has detected a FreeMem call after FastMM was uninstalled"

    Then, after OKing this, I get:

    "Runtime error 204 at 004049E5".

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I just worked out how to include an attachment of a screen shot of the bug report.
    Attachment 18

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,669

    Default

    Hi James,

    Thanks for the bug report. Please try reproducing this with the Full Debug build of Cirrus. If it leaks with the debug build, it will log detailed information to "c:\program files\Cirrus\Cirrus_MemoryManager_EventLog.txt". Please email us with the log file and I will pass it on to our developers.

    Thanks,
    Chris
    Chris K Scooter Software

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,518

    Default

    James,

    I'm already aware of the TAutoCompleteURLFilter leak, so you don't need to send any more information in. It can trigger an access violation too, but aside from being annoying it won't hurt anything. It occurs very late in shutdown, so it won't affect your data.

    I'll try to get it fixed soon.

    Craig P Scooter Software

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Craig,

    Thanks for the update.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Just posting this one in hopes it'll be of some small use. I can't reproduce it, but since it's so detailed it's a shame to waste it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,518

    Default

    Tom,

    Thanks. We'll have that fixed in the next release.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam, NL
    Posts
    98

    Default

    I'm occasionally seeing such memory leak messages on shutdown as well. Two questions before I try the full debug build:
    1. Can I install the full debug build "next to" the normal debug build (i.e., in a separate directory) so I can use either?
    2. If not, will installing the full debug build over the normal debug build retain all my settings or should I save those first?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] Marjolein Katsma
    Get my File Formats for Cirrus: HTML, CSS, PHP...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,518

    Default

    The current build has a leak that occurs whenever a folder is either created by Cirrus or created externally and found during a "Refresh". There's another leak that can occur sporadically related to the various path edit's autocomplete functionality. Both of them are already fixed for the next release, and both are common enough that you should just ignore leak messages until after the next release comes out.

    To answer your questions:

    1) Yes, you can install to two different directories and it should work fine.

    2) If your settings files are in the standard location (%AppData%\Scooter Software\Beyond Compare 3) every version you have installed will pull them from the same place. You joined the beta when we were still storing the settings in the install directory, so you'll need to move them if you haven't already.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •