Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,519

    Default

    Hi Bob,

    Are you using the BC3 Standard with the /savetarget switch (two files side-by-side, no separate output window)? That would would set the error code to 13, which TFS would treat as a cancel. The 3-way merge in BC3 Pro sets the error code to 0 in the same situation.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi Craig,

    Thanks for your quick response. Yes, I'm using BC3 Standard specifying the /savetaget switch. It sounds like I have to upgrade to Pro in order to get around this issue?

    My workaround so far has been to perform my merge as usual (and recieve the cancelled msg) and then try to checkin again and say "Auto Merge" and it appears to work. Of course, I have only just setup VStudio to use BC3 and so for my merges have been pretty tame. This may not work in every situation, especially if it's a complicated merge with overlapping changes.

    BTW, I've also seen the following configuration for merging in one of the other threads:

    %1 %2 %3 %4 /title1=%6 /title2=%7 /title3=%8 /title4=%9 /solo

    I assume that this is for 3-way merging in Pro?


    Thanks,
    Bob

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,519

    Default

    No need to upgrade; we want BC3 standard to replace BC2. I was just confirming the issue.

    We'll change the next release so if the /savetarget switch is given it will use the same return codes as the 3-way merge.

    That command line is for the 3-way merge, but it's out of date because the /solo switch isn't needed anymore. The current TFS switches are fully documented in the VCS knowledge base article.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    4

    Default

    OK. So it sounds like I just need to use my workaround until the next release then.

    Is there any way to get notified when or check if a specific issue gets fixed? Or should this be a pretty easy fix and the next time an update is available via the automatic updates it should be resolved then?

    Thanks again,
    Bob

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,519

    Default

    I've already checked in a fix. The next time you see "New Version Available" it'll be fixed.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    4

    Default

    You sir, are awesome!

    Thank you,
    Bob

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Ok, I still have this issue here, can someone please tell me how I can avoid this "merge has been cancelled". I have the latest bc3 and still get this mesasge.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Are you using BComp.exe instead of Bcompare? Does your configuration match what is listed in this KB article?:
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo...?zz=kb_vcs.php
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Does anyone have a solution to this? I am using VS2010 with a TFS as source control. Every time I merge a file manually I get the "The manual merge for <file name> has been canceled".

    When should the change get picked up? When I save the file or when I close beyond compare?

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Are you sure you have the 'professional' version? If memory serves, my issue was that I didn't and only the professional version supported merging.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •