X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • afsfire
    Visitor
    • Nov 2018

Massive Deduplication comparison

I'm brand new to Beyond Compare so I apologize if my question seems simple. (in fact I hope that it is and I'm just not seeing it). I have spent hours upon days, upon weeks of manually deduplicating a massive folder in terms of quantity of files and subfolders. The files range from various audio types (mp3, m4a, wav, etc.,), various document types (pdf, doc, xls, txt etc.,), and various Photo types... What I'm looking to accomplish is to compare the deduplicated folder (Folder A) with the folder that was the destination for the duplicates (Folder B) in order to determine if I have moved all copies of a duplicate group to the Duplicates folder. Or basically to make sure I have at least one copy of each file in the original folder (FolderA). This might sound easy enough with BC4 however There were multiple copies of Thousands of files and a great deal of the copies were in different locations. What I need BC to do is only show me files that are "Nowhere" in the Folder A's subfolders that are "anywhere" in the Folder B's subfolders. I don't want the session to care where the files are located in the respective folders... just that if there is a file that is in Folder B that is not in Folder A. Each refresh takes about an hour or so... So I have to maximize my time on the refreshes.
  • Chris
    Team Scooter
    • Oct 2007

Beyond Compare can do this if the duplicates have the same name.

Load the two folders in Beyond Compare's Folder Compare. Then select View > Ignore Folder Structure.
    Chris K Scooter Software

Comment

• afsfire
      Visitor
      • Nov 2018