Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: GitKraken?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    3

    Default GitKraken?

    Having trouble getting bcompare to work with GitKraken - ubuntu 18.04.

    Anyone had success? Not sure who's "fault" it is.

    git config --global diff.tool bcompare
    git config --global merge.tool bcompare

    But is says it can't find the diff tool....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Is your bcompare directory on the path? try doing the git config with an absolute path and retry GitKraken

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lhasadad View Post
    Is your bcompare directory on the path? try doing the git config with an absolute path and retry GitKraken
    I can launch beyond compare from the terminal by typing bcompare so I would assume yes....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I run bcompare from the terminal and it runs the program so I would think so

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    12,006

    Default

    Hello,

    I've setup a GitKraken git repo, and after staging and creating a diff scenario, I went into GitKraken's Preferences and in the General Tab, I set both Merge Tool and Diff Tool to "Beyond Compare" from the dropdown.

    Right clicking the staging area with a file has an "Open in Beyond Compare" option, which seems to work for calling to a diff view.

    Do these steps work for you? If not, have you rebooted your machine since installing both GitKraken and Beyond Compare 4?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    68

    Default Other thoughts.

    Quote Originally Posted by RickF View Post
    I run bcompare from the terminal and it runs the program so I would think so
    I am not familiar with the operation of GitKraken (though I know its a Git Gui). It might be possible that while running it modifies the path in its environment info. an attempt to launch something hoping its on the path might not be valid. I would follow Arron's directions and see if they help.

    run: which bcompare
    in the terminal and see what path it is coming up with. if you can specify an absolute path in GitKraken, then use that info to fill in the dialog.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •