Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default Word wrap in file view of text-possible?

    Hi new to Beyond Compare - currently evaluating BC 3.0 (build 459).
    I hope this is the right sub-forum to post this?
    Question: Is word-wrap in text view still unsupported? If not, can I assume it won't make it into BC 3.0 release version?

    I found this from Chris (08-15-2005, 12:29 PM) -not sure what version it referred to.
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/vbull...18&postcount=2
    Sorry, the current version of Beyond Compare doesn't have a word wrap feature. Word wrapping is on our todo list for a future release of Beyond Compare.

    As a workaround, you can limit the line length to force BC to wrap at a fixed number of characters, but the current version won't compare across the forced wraps so it probably won't be to useful. To set the line length, select Tools|Edit Current Rules. Change the "Maximum Line Length" setting to force a wrap.
    At the end of that thread I found
    Are you aware of the "Search|Next Difference In Line" command (Ctrl+Shift+N) in Beyond Compare? This will cycle through differences within the current line.
    which may mitigate the problem.

    Everything else about BC 3 is so flawless I kept thinking I had just not found the feature yet. Heck "even" KDiff3 has word wrap
    Last edited by Alec_Burgess; 03-Jul-2008 at 05:04 PM. Reason: typo thing s/b thinking

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Word wrap - followup:
    Are you aware of the "Search|Next Difference In Line" command (Ctrl+Shift+N) in Beyond Compare? This will cycle through differences within the current line.
    which may mitigate the problem
    Hmmm ... neither Next/Previous Difference (Shift+Ctrl+N / Shift+Ctrl+P) can be put on the Toolbar. Can you remedy this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tempe, AZ US
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alec_Burgess View Post
    Hmmm ... neither Next/Previous Difference (Shift+Ctrl+N / Shift+Ctrl+P) can be put on the Toolbar. Can you remedy this?
    The Next Difference command in BC3 finds the next difference in the line as well, and that item can be put on the tool bar.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Alec_Burgess
    Hmmm ... neither Next/Previous Difference (Shift+Ctrl+N / Shift+Ctrl+P) can be put on the Toolbar. Can you remedy this?
    The Next Difference command in BC3 finds the next difference in the line as well, and that item can be put on the tool bar.
    see screenshot - are we talking about the same thing?
    http://screencast.com/t/mwx5YPfS

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    If allowed on the toolbar, I would suggest amber arrows pointing left and right instead of up and down to differentiate them from the "Next/Previous Difference Section" toolbar buttons.
    BC v4.0.7 build 19761
    ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    437

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alec_Burgess View Post
    Hmmm ... neither Next/Previous Difference (Shift+Ctrl+N / Shift+Ctrl+P) can be put on the Toolbar. Can you remedy this?
    You can "Select Browse Mode" to be "Browse By Difference" so the arrows in the bottom right (see image) will perform "Next/Previous Difference".
    Erik Scooter Software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,648

    Default

    Alec,

    Back to your original question, BC 3 beta doesn't support word-wrap, and we won't be able to add it in for the official BC 3.0 release. Word-wrap is still on our wish list for a future version.
    Chris K Scooter Software

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Only in pro?

    I have the standard version and this is not working for me.

    When I change the browse method to "Browse by difference" the up and down arrows (immediately above and below the dot you click on to change the browse mode) disappear.

    Also, pressing Ctrl+shift+n does nothing. I am only able to go to the next difference section.

    I guess I should verify that I am correct in my understanding of what the expected behavior should be. I am thinking that when I click (or press ctrl+shift+n) that the cursor position should be jumping to the difference within a particular line. Is this correct?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,648

    Default

    I'm not sure what you mean by "Browse by difference". Did you select "View > Show Differences" in the Text Compare?

    The command "Search > Next Difference Section (Control+N)" should cycle through multi-line blocks of differences. The "Search > Next Difference (Control+Shift+N)" should cycle through differences within lines.

    If this isn't the behavior you're seeing, please send a pair of example files you're having trouble with and a copy of your settings to support@scootersoftware.com and we'll try to figure out what is causing the problem. To save your settings to a file, select "Help > Support" and click the Export button.
    Chris K Scooter Software

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,648

    Default

    I discussed this with one of our developers and he clarified where the "Browse by difference" setting is. This option should only be disabled if there are no differences to navigate to. However, if there are differences and it isn't working, please send us a copy of your settings and a pair of example files and we'll try to determine what is causing the problem.
    Chris K Scooter Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •