Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Does it automatically check synchronized files by content / date (according to the settings) after each sync? Or is there a setting? Could one switch it off?

    And was the content scan complete before you clicked to Copy?
    If I remember it right, it was not.

    If not, then the initial scan could still be running, too.
    So both scans run at the same time, the initial one and the one after the sync? Why is that, what for?

    And any files that do not have a center column populated would be in queue to be binary scanned.
    For the initial and / or the last scan?
    Windows 10 Version 6.2 (Build 9200) Home, 64bit

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,616

    Default

    Hello,

    Yes, this is controlled in the Session Settings dialog -> Comparison tab. In an earlier screenshot, you showed you had Binary scan enabled in the Content Compare. This is not the default; the default has this disabled (and leaves Timestamp, Size, Align Filenames with different Unicode normalization, and Override Quick Test results enabled).

    If you tell BC4 to compare by binary, it will compare everything by binary. This will start at load and scan everything aligned. If you also copy files, the copy will happen right away as a foreground action and will also compare these files after the copy is complete. Any aligned pair of files (left and right) will be scanned and the center column populated, since you've configured the session to compare all files using a binary content scan.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Hello Aaron!

    Yes, this is controlled in the Session Settings dialog -> Comparison tab. In an earlier screenshot, you showed you had Binary scan enabled in the Content Compare. This is not the default; the default has this disabled (and leaves Timestamp, Size, Align Filenames with different Unicode normalization, and Override Quick Test results enabled).
    Yes, one can choose the kind of compare, but can one turn off / on the automatic compare after a sync?

    If you tell BC4 to compare by binary, it will compare everything by binary.
    Yes, that is what I want.

    Is it correct:
    When ones starts BC it automacitally will compare by content (if set) all the files pairs with the same names. After the sync it automatically will compare all the files pairs with the same names again.

    So, if thre is a courrupted file BY will automatically show it as unequal (if compare by content is set)? So there is no way to miss a broken file?
    Last edited by Donk; 21-Aug-2017 at 11:43 PM.
    Windows 10 Version 6.2 (Build 9200) Home, 64bit

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,616

    Default

    No, the configured background compare always runs on everything. You can configure the background compare to not include a binary scan, then after Load, perform a Select All + rightclick - Compare Contents command to perform a manual Binary Compare on the current files. You could then perform the copy, which would use the background scan results. Please note that folder and file coloring would then indicate the comparison status, but that this status would be derived from different factors: some files would have been binary scanned and some would not.

    And no, BC4 does not re-scan all of the files. Only the aligned pairs that do not have an icon that were just copied.

    Corruption detection can be difficult to guarantee on a transferred file since Windows caching could send back the wrong results. It's better that the built-in Explorer detection for a corrupted transfer, but there are edge cases it could potentially miss.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    149

    Default

    No, the configured background compare always runs on everything.
    So each time after each sync, copy, move independently of done manually or automatically? There is no way to turn it off?

    You could then perform the copy, which would use the background scan results.
    And after the copying BC would make a new compare by content?

    Please note that folder and file coloring would then indicate the comparison status, but that this status would be derived from different factors: some files would have been binary scanned and some would not.
    So it is better to always to use the compare by content to avoid such.

    It's better that the built-in Explorer detection for a corrupted transfer, but there are edge cases it could potentially miss.
    Sorry, I do not understand that. What does it mean? And what edge cases?
    Windows 10 Version 6.2 (Build 9200) Home, 64bit

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,616

    Default

    No, enabling the background compare specifically enables this behavior. That's what this setting is for; so everything on screen has been compared as configured. If you want to turn it off, then disable this setting, and use the Compare Contents command instead.

    Yes, after the copy it runs the content scan, if set as a background content criteria. And it depends: if just timestamp/size is a sufficient comparison, then the content scan on only some files adds extra but not necessary information.

    You asked if there was "no way to miss", but given the OS and caching it is not possible to guarantee that level of comparison. For example, when duplicating media (DVDs), if the same serial is used (not recommended but possible to do), then ejecting the disc and inserting a new (but same serial duplicate disc) does not clear Windows caching. This type of case is outside of BC4's control.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Alright, thank you very much Aaron!
    Windows 10 Version 6.2 (Build 9200) Home, 64bit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •