Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    149

    Default Although the synchronization is finished BC still works?

    Although the synchronization (for a single tab) appears to be finished

    BC obviously still is doing anything (besides of synchronizing another tab):
    http://i.imgur.com/Q4dNYgt.png

    Does it check synchronized files by content or such:
    ?

    And even after all synchs are shown as finished this is going on, BC is still working:



    What does that mean?
    It takes an extremely long time until the white folder of single item (containg a file about 1 GB big and 10 small files, about 1 MB) is repalced with a grey one, about 10 , 15 minutes.

    "Stop" is blinking:
    Last edited by Donk; 18-Aug-2017 at 01:31 PM.
    Windows 10 Version 6.2 (Build 9200) Home, 64bit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,374

    Default

    Hello,

    The white icon means that folder is still queued for a comparison. After the copy, it is performing the background content compare defined in the Comparison tab (Binary in your screenshot). This does not show a progress bar, but does show the folder coloring progressing and the main Abort/Stop button is enabled during a background content scan.

    Had the content scan finished the initial load before the copy was started? Or is this the scan comparing the newly copied items?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Hello Aaron,

    Many thanks.

    Sorry, I do not understand. Why does it say it is finished, if it isn't? Does it mean yes or no to this: Does it check synchronized files by content or such? So does BC check the files after a sync?

    After the copy, it is performing the background content compare defined in the Comparison tab (Binary in your screenshot).
    Why is it done?

    This does not show a progress bar, but does show the folder coloring progressing and the main Abort/Stop button is enabled during a background content scan.
    But why does BC show to be finished:
    Although the synchronization (for a single tab) appears to be finished
    Had the content scan finished the initial load before the copy was started?
    Sorry, I do not know.

    Or is this the scan comparing the newly copied items?
    Sorry again, I do not understand which scan is meant. This is shown:
    [/QUOTE]
    So I would say the sync is finished, but BC is working all the time.

    Sorry for my bad understanding.

    Thanks again
    Windows 10 Version 6.2 (Build 9200) Home, 64bit

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,374

    Default

    Hello,

    The log says "Files copied successfully" but many actions can be taken in the Folder Compare. For example, you could start two copies at once, and one might finish much sooner than the other. In this case, you have a background content scan running on the entire folder pair and also a Copy you've performed on a selection. The Copy is done, but the content scan is still going to run on any aligned items (including those that are copied).

    You can watch the content scan working; it populates the center column between file names (not folders) with the icon of the content scan results. As folders finish, they will change from white to a color of the comparison status.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Hello Aaron,

    Sorry, I do not understand that.

    Many thanks anyway.
    Windows 10 Version 6.2 (Build 9200) Home, 64bit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,374

    Default

    Hello,

    When loading the Folder Compare initially, you've configured a background content scan to run on load. Watch the folder colors update (according to the View menu -> Legend), and watch between file pairs: the center column populates with an equal or red unequal sign to indicate the results of the Binary content scan. During this scan and build step, the Stop/Abort button will blink.

    During this scan, you could also copy files. This doesn't stop the comparison, which would continue to run. You could copy 3 files, which would finish successfully, before the initial content compare scan has completed. Also, once copied, those 3 files would also be scanned so the center column between them can also show the content comparison results.

    If you work with a smaller dataset, it might help these concepts become a bit more clear. With a very large data set, when it takes an hour or more to perform the content scan or copy action, it can be difficult to see each step individually.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Hello Aaron,

    Sorry, I do not understand what those explanations - thank you very much - mean to my questions. May be answers to my questions could help to get a better understanding.
    Windows 10 Version 6.2 (Build 9200) Home, 64bit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,374

    Default

    Ok,

    You ask "Why is it done?" because the log says "Successfully copied 779 files in 1 hour"

    However, it is not done.

    That only means the Copy of 779 files is done. But the background Binary scan from the Session menu -> Session Settings, Comparison tab is still running. You can have multiple things (scans, copies etc) running at once. The main Stop button will blink if there is 1+ actions still running. In this case, the Copy is done but the Compare is still running.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Hello Aaron.

    But the background Binary scan from the Session menu -> Session Settings, Comparison tab is still running.
    Does it automatically check synchronized files by content after each sync?

    You can have multiple things (scans, copies etc) running at once.
    Yes, but there was only one thing running (respectively I started only one thing), a sync in a single tab.

    The main Stop button will blink if there is 1+ actions still running.
    The main Stop button for a single tab or for all the tabs? When I click that stop button the process in the open tab is stopped not the processes of the other tabs, if I have seen it right.

    In this case, the Copy is done but the Compare is still running.
    The compare of files being already synced?
    Windows 10 Version 6.2 (Build 9200) Home, 64bit

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,374

    Default

    Yes, a content scan would run after the sync. And was the content scan complete before you clicked to Copy? If not, then the initial scan could still be running, too. And you're right: the Stop button is specific for the current tab. And any files that do not have a center column populated would be in queue to be binary scanned.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •