Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    15

    Default BC4 and Context Menus Missing

    As the title says, I am missing the context menus for BC4 on my main dev machine.

    I think something may have gotten screwed up due to also having BC3 also installed (for transition), because the context items WERE there for it. But, obviously I want the context items to launch BC4, so I uninstalled BC3 ... but the menus are now gone and I cannot get them back.

    * I seem to remember in the past having both context menus at the same time for different versions ... should I have seen this for BC3 and BC4?

    * I have uninstalled and reinstalled BC4 several times and it still does not work. I have checked and unchecked the context menu option setting and still nothing shows.

    * I will say that the first time I uninstalled BC4 I got an access violation at the end, so I am not sure if that messed something up (but it still wasn't working before uninstall anyway)

    * I have googled about this and keep reading about a reg file that will removed cirrus reg entries (which are still left over after uninstall) so maybe that is the issue? I cannot find this reg file though.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,623

    Default

    Hello,

    We can email the reg file if you email us at support@scootersoftware.com with a link back to this forum thread for reference.

    Which OS are you running, and where is BC4 currently installed? Is it the latest 4.2.2 release? 32bit or 64bit version of BC4 (Help menu -> About dialog)?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Hello,

    We can email the reg file if you email us at support@scootersoftware.com with a link back to this forum thread for reference.

    Which OS are you running, and where is BC4 currently installed? Is it the latest 4.2.2 release? 32bit or 64bit version of BC4 (Help menu -> About dialog)?
    Running Windows 10 Pro 64 bit.
    Installed latest release Version 4.2.2 (build 22384)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Sadly, the application of the reg file did not fix it after a restart.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,623

    Default

    Hello,

    Did you edit the Add.reg file's paths to match your default install location of either Program Files\Beyond Compare 4\, or Program Files (x86)\Beyond Compare 4\, in all locations within the the file?

    If so, you may need to perform a clean uninstall and reinstall. In the email, we also included a Remove.reg.

    First, back up your existing settings with the Tools menu -> Export dialog.
    Then Uninstall BC4, run the (edited if needed) Remove.reg. Then reboot your computer. This should be a clean state.

    Then attempt to install using the newest setup.exe from our website:
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/download.php

    Does this get you up and running? If not, try rebooting, retesting, and then using Add.reg and rebooting. The key is Windows will lock down the shell extension and only allows changes during a restart, so any changes we attempt to apply to it may be queued until a reboot is completed. For troubleshooting purposes, reboot whenever testing between these steps.

    If this doesn't get it up and running, you may have a shell conflict recently installed. Use ShellExView to disable all shell extensions except for the defaults and BC4, then reboot. If this gets BC4 working, then one of the disabled shells is a conflict. Slowly re-enable a batch at a time to find which one is the problem and let us know. That program may need an update.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I've found the reason of this problem. Checking with RegDllView.exe, you'll find the the register shellext is BCShellEx.dll, not BCShellEx64.dll. After modifying the registry HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{57FA2D12-D22D-490A-805A-5CB48E84F12A}\InProcServer32 to BCShellEx64.dll, everything is ok.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,623

    Default

    Hello,

    Was your computer ever running a 32bit OS, later upgraded to a 64bit OS? And was BC(BC3 or BC4) installed while the computer was still a 32bit machine?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    My computer was new-installed windows 10 x64 1607, not upgraded from x86。After few days, it upgraded to 1703 itself. The context error existed both 1607 and 1703.
    Last edited by flintning; 07-Jun-2017 at 11:55 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,623

    Default

    Thanks for that info. I'll pass this on to a developer and see if we can figure out what caused this flip.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hello all,

    Just to provide a feedback,

    I had a similar problem. In the past, I´ve installed an old version 3 (trial), and then uninstalled. It worked fine.
    Other day, I´ve installed the version 4.0.7 (full), and beyond compare stopped to show it in explorer context menu.
    In meantime, I´ve tried un-install, install, restart, admin...

    Solution: Using the ShellExView I´ve realized that:
    Extension Name : CirrusShellEx
    has:
    Missing File : Yes
    So checking the path, I saw that it is related to the old installation:
    Filename : C:\Program Files (x86)\Beyond Compare 3\BCShellEx64.dll
    and then changing to C:\Program Files (x86)\Beyond Compare 4\BCShellEx64.dll via regedit, it works sucessfully.

    Possibly, the un-install of version 3 and install version 4, it is not updating the regiter CLSID
    CLSID : {57FA2D12-D22D-490A-805A-5CB48E84F12A}

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •