• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • toweyb
    Visitor
    • Mar 2017

Saving completed work in Sessions?

Hi, folks,
    I'm new to BC4 and I can't figure out a basic function.
    I have 1500 XML files to compare. BC says there are 600 unchanged files. That leaves 900 that require inspection. A big job.
    It can't be completed in one day. Here's what I did:
    • Create a Folder Merge session
    • Set up my three windows and output folder.
    • Reconcile 10 files.
    • Save the Session.
    • Exit Beyond Compare.
    • Next start again and load my Session.
    • BC repeats the comparison, and does not remember the 10 files I did yesterday. All it remembers is the folder paths.

How can I get BC4 to resume where I left off?
  • Aaron
    Team Scooter
    • Oct 2007

Hello,

This is true, BC4's Sessions would only remember the Folder Paths. If you make a copy of your "Yours" directory (assuming it is Left, for example), you can then Merge into Left as the Output. This would show any resolved files as already equal in the Output as a green checkmark in the status column.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

Comment

• toweyb
      Visitor
      • Mar 2017

Thank you for the tip. When I try it, merged files (a little of this and a little of that) show as unequal to the center and right panes--which is true, they're not equal.
      Maybe I can change the folder names. I can append the name of the person who should compare them, or "finished" when they are done.

Comment

• Aaron
        Team Scooter
        • Oct 2007