Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default Keys within Pageant not used while opening a SFTP connection

    As a user of BC4 PRO 64-Bit (Version 4.1.9 (build 21719)) I'd like to connect via SFTP using the SSH keys which are already in use within Pageant. Sadly, I am asked for a passphrase when connecting to a remote site. so pageant doesn't seem to be used.

    Could you please look into this? Do you need further information?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,893

    Default

    Hello,

    A password or passphrase?

    The passphrase is part of the Key and is prompted if a key is detected and requires the passphrase. This would indicate that Pageant is working or that you have defined to use a key in the Tools menu -> Profile dialog: select specific Profile.

    The passphrase is part of the key spec and is created during the key generation as a security measure to require user interaction. If you do not want to use a passphrase, you would generate a key without one (while understanding the risks of doing so).
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for your answer.
    While starting up pageant I am entering the passphrase for the ssh-key, so it will be added to the pageant "basket".
    Now I am wondering why I am *not* asked for a passphrase if I use the same key for connecting with putty and pageant. Is there something to be configured left?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I have the same exact question.

    Connecting using pageant with Putty and other programs work fine. When I chose sftp under the profile, and try to connect, it keeps prompting me for the password. Hitting enter seems to work fine, as well as entering jibberish (and it still accepts it), but I'm wondering why the prompt is there to begin with. I don't remember it being like this in version 3
    Last edited by skaforey; 17-Feb-2017 at 03:21 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,893

    Default

    Hello,

    Pageant will remember the key and passphrase while it is loaded. Exiting will then remove/forget the key and passphrase. Some applications can choose to store the key this way. BC4, itself, will also remember the passphrase in the current instance of BC4 (if you close the tab, and then open a new session and load the profile, it won't re-prompt for the passphrase). But this isn't saved after you close the program. Does this explain the behavior you are seeing?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,893

    Default

    Is it BC4 that is generating the prompt, and is it asking for Password or Passphrase? In the Tools menu -> Profiles dialog, in your specific saved profile, is Saved Password disabled? Is your Private Key defined here, in Pageant, or in both locations (you would only need one)?

    Which version of BC4 are you running (Help menu -> About dialog)? The above instructions are for the latest BC 4.1.9, where 4.x updates are free for 4.x users.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Is it BC4 that is generating the prompt, and is it asking for Password or Passphrase? In the Tools menu -> Profiles dialog, in your specific saved profile, is Saved Password disabled? Is your Private Key defined here, in Pageant, or in both locations (you would only need one)?

    Which version of BC4 are you running (Help menu -> About dialog)? The above instructions are for the latest BC 4.1.9, where 4.x updates are free for 4.x users.
    I am using BC4 Pro 4.1.9

    I have tried both save password (blank and filled in), and having it unchecked. No matter what I choose, when I first start BC4, the first time I try to logon to the server it prompts for the password. The title window says "Keyboard Authentication" and the prompt asks for "skaforey's password"

    My private key is defined in pageant. When I tried using the ppk file from putty in BC4, it prompted for the passphrase that is associated with the key.

    Like I mentioned before, logging in with Putty does not prompt for a password. I also use Edit Plus 4, which never prompts me for a password either.

    See my attachment for the setings I'm using
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Bump...any update?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,728

    Default

    Sorry, no updates yet. We'll post an update to this thread when we have a chance to dig into it again.
    Chris K Scooter Software

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I hate to pester but I really wish that this could be looked into. It doesn't seem like it should be that hard to fix prompting for a password when pageant is taking care of passwords.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •