Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    4

    Default BC4 on Ubuntu: all dialog boxes are blank

    I just installed bcompare-4.1.9.21719_amd64.deb on my 64-bit ubuntu 14.04 LTS machine. I followed the terminal based instructions on the download page. There were no errors on the install, and bcompare opens fine. However, when I open any dialog box, I get a popup that is a blank gray screen with a title bar. So I can't do much with the tool. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    U.S. East coast
    Posts
    303

    Default

    Does this terminal command provide any errors?

    Code:
    sudo apt-get -f install

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,949

    Default

    Hello,

    Are you running Beyond Compare as the normal user, or are you executing as the SU? If you reboot and launch via Ubuntu's graphical shortcut, does this work as expected?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    U.S. East coast
    Posts
    303

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Are you running Beyond Compare as the normal user, or are you executing as the SU?
    Aaron, I'm curious why that would matter. On Ubuntu 12.04.5, I normally run BC as a normal user. But I sometimes run it as the SU (root), when I need to access files that only root can access. In both cases, BC works properly.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    4

    Default

    The apt-get command returns no errors.
    I am running as a normal user.
    Running from the gnome desktop with the graphical shortcut works fine.
    Running remotely via 'ssh -Y' has the problem.
    New update: Once I grab the title bar of the blank window and move it, the contents appear.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,949

    Default

    Hello,

    Running Ubuntu 14.04 as the client with all recent updates, and connecting to Ubuntu 16.04 running the latest openssh-server. Running ssh -Y on the client machine returns the terminal and allows me to launch bcompare.

    Are all of your apps running the latest version supplied by apt-get?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Yes, my ubuntu 14.04 installation is up to date. I am connecting from a Windows machine running Cygwin-X and cygwin's ssh client. I have been doing this successfully for years. What's new is Windows 10. My money's on Windows 10 as the culprit.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,949

    Default

    Is there any chance we could connect to your Win10 culprit running Cygwin-X with an openssh-server install? It's possible I'll be able to create a matching configuration, but given the complexity of that setup, it's likely we'll have something setup slightly differently and may not see the bug. You can email us at support@scootersoftware.com with a link back to this forum thread (for our reference) if this is possible.

    Update: Misread "from" as "to" for an extra complicated scenario. I'll work on setting up a Win10a/Cygwin client.
    Last edited by Aaron; 17-Oct-2016 at 10:21 AM.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,949

    Default

    I've reproduced this with Cygwin but not Ubuntu as the client machine. Your original report seemed to indicate you were running ssh -Y on an Ubuntu machine and having trouble. Is that still the case?

    Cygwin itself is something we try to work with, but is outside of our supported distributions list. All BC4 licenses are multiplatform (you may need to apply for a free upgrade). If you are on Windows, you could install and remotely connect as an SFTP (with BC4 Pro). Would this work well for you?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Aaron,
    I think you have my setup backwards. BC4 is installed on my ubuntu 14.04 machine. It runs fine when run natively from the gnome desktop. My normal workflow is to work from a windows machine and ssh -Y to the linux box. I start cygwin-X, open an xterm, then 'ssh -Y <linux machine>'. Then from there I run 'bcompare &', and that is where the problem occurs. I don't have openssh server installed on my Windows 10 machine.

    I do have the multi-platform license and can run BC4 natively on Windows with no problem. But when comparing linux code trees, I prefer to use the linux BC4 rather than Windows BC4 --> samba --> linux filesystem.

    Thanks,
    Jim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •