Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    So.Cal.
    Posts
    88

    Default Missing arrows...

    See attached screenshot, it shows a difference between 2 files, but the arrows are missing (so the different can't be copied to the other side).

    Also, the Edit button is pressed, but it won't let me edit either side (place text cursor anywhere in text, try to enter or delete text, nothing happens).

    I'm not sure if this is because the difference is at the end of the file, or because the filename has no extension.

    BC4 build 21575.

    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by joecar; 01-Sep-2016 at 11:16 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    So.Cal.
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by joecar View Post
    ...
    I'm not sure if this is because the difference is at the end of the file, or because the filename has no extension.
    ...
    It looks like it happens when difference is at end of file (and is regardless of filename/extension).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Hello,

    From the screenshot, it appears the file is not fully loaded yet with the progress bar at the bottom of the pane. We show partial file text as they load, but the gutter copying isn't enabled until the load is completed.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    So.Cal.
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Ah, I see (I had failed to notice to progress bar). Please disregard.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    So.Cal.
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Ok, I'm bringing this back up...

    when the difference is right at the end of the file, and one file is remote, the progress bar never completes, it hangs forever...

    this prevents me from copying the difference at the end of the file (since arrows do not appear until progress bar completes, which it never does).
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by joecar; 14-Dec-2016 at 10:48 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Hello,

    The length or position of a difference shouldn't impact the load of the file. If you load a Folder Compare with only a single side, then open that file with a double click (resulting in a single side comparison loading) does the load complete?

    My hunch is that it's a problem file or connection issue that is preventing the file from loading fully, regardless of the comparison to the other side.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    So.Cal.
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    ...

    My hunch is that it's a problem file or connection issue that is preventing the file from loading fully, regardless of the comparison to the other side.
    In the pic I attached to post #5 above, both sides show the complete file contents (I indicated where end-of-file would be), so the files would be fully loaded, but the load progress bar indicated otherwise.
    Last edited by joecar; 15-Dec-2016 at 10:38 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    So.Cal.
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    ...
    If you load a Folder Compare with only a single side, then open that file with a double click (resulting in a single side comparison loading) does the load complete?
    ...
    I opened a file that exists on the RHS only (has a remote profile), and the load never completed (i.e. the progress bar hung indefinitely/forever)... but I could clearly see all the text content of the file, I could scroll to the end (and with the Edit button pressed, I could position the cursor anywhere, including at the end).
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    So.Cal.
    Posts
    88

    Default

    And same thing happens when the only file is on the LHS...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    That last screenshot appears to have the same trouble for the local side, but your toolbar Status bar has been disabled so I cannot see which file format is being used. It's possible your format has a conversion configured that is hanging on this specific file.

    Can you email in support@scootersoftware.com:
    - A copy of the problem file
    - Your BCsupport.zip from the Help menu -> Support; Export
    - A link back to this forum thread
    Aaron P Scooter Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •