Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    106

    Angry Frozen Dialog Makes Software Unusable

    Unfortunately since I attempted to try the 4.1 beta (and then rolled back to 4), I am not seeing a serious issue that makes BeyondCompare unusable for me.

    When I open up certain sessions with an older ftp profile, the password prompt now pops up, but all is grayed out. I can not click on any part of the UI and get a response. I have to force close the app, and if I go back into the same session, it happens all over again.

    I tried to attach a screenshot, but I got a message that my quote would be exceeded. The upload quota is tiny, fyi.

    I am very frustrated. I use this software every day for my job. What can be done to wipe out my installation and install again cleanly? Thanks,

    Kevin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Update: This may only be happening with sessions that are comparing files on my external drive.

    FYI, the format of my external drive is Mac OS Extended (Journaled)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Well, it was not the external drive that is the problem.

    To give you more detail, I was trying to compare a folder on my local external drive to an ftp profile.

    I tried:
    - Copied my local (external drive) folder to my primary hard drive
    - Deleted my saved session and tried to recreate it
    - Deleted the ftp profile I was using and tried to recreate it.

    Still having the issue.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    106

    Default

    I was able to use the application once again, but I had to reinstall the application, wipe out all of my settings, and then do an import WITHOUT ftp profiles. Something about my ftp profiles was breaking the application.

    Now I've got probably 100 sessions I have to re-enter the password for.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,382

    Default

    Hello,

    Do you still have a copy of your old setting files? We may be able to reproduce this if you can email in your old setting files to support@scootersoftware.com. Please include a link back to this forum thread in the email for our reference.

    If you can narrow down which session would reliably reproduce the crash, we would only need that session/profile pair to try and load and recreate the disabled dialog you are seeing. Also, if you can reproduce this: if you move the window around, is there another dialog underneath? Asking for a certificate or permission?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    106

    Default

    I found out the cause. When I bumped up the simultaneous connections setting from 1 to 5 in my default ftp profile, that's when I would have the issue. I set it back down to 1 and now it works fine.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,503

    Default

    Sounds like it might have been trying to display two authentication dialogs at once and it was running into problems. If you save the password as part of the profile so it can connect automatically it should work with multiple connections.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ZoŽ View Post
    Sounds like it might have been trying to display two authentication dialogs at once and it was running into problems. If you save the password as part of the profile so it can connect automatically it should work with multiple connections.
    Sorry to say that is not the case. I always check the save password box.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,382

    Default

    Right, but if you go to the Beyond Compare menu -> Profiles dialog, select your profile, is the correct password already saved here with Save Password enabled?

    The Save Password checkbox is also present when initially connecting as a pop-up, but for Zoe's suggestion it needs to be pre-saved in the Profile dialog.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    106

    Default

    When I followed your instruction to check the save password box, it was already checked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •