X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • nekulturny
    Visitor
    • Apr 2015

Beyond Compare and Bazaar VCS

I bought Beyond Compare to see if it could take the place of Araxis Merge, which I have been using at work for about 15 years, because I can't justify its cost for personal use. It's always challenging adjusting to a new tool but for the most part I have been able to find settings in Beyond Compare to make it work in a way that's compatible with the habits I've established. In some respects, Beyond Compare far outstrips the capabilities of Araxis Merge (if I'd known about it's table compare feature for example I would have bought it long ago for comparing CSV files). I like Beyond Compare! There are a couple of idiosyncrasies though that I'm finding difficult.

With Araxis Merge as my diff viewer in Bazaar, when I clicked the diff button on the qcommit window, Araxis would open if it was not already running and it would open each changed file in a new tab. That is the behaviour that makes sense to me and it's the behaviour I want.

I've tried a few things with Beyond Compare and none of them are ideal.

1. Using bcomp

If I use bcomp, Beyond Compare will open with a single file comparison in it. When I close that comparison it opens the next one. It doesn't make a difference if Beyond Compare is open beforehand or not. It always opens one comparison at a time and won't open the next until the first is closed. This is really annoying when many, many files have changed.

2. Using bcompare

If I use bcompare without having Beyond Compare already open, the behaviour is the same as using bcomp. The comparisons are opened serially.

If Beyond Compare is already running when I click the diff button and it's configured to use bcompare, it opens each comparison in a tab of the existing Beyond Compare window. This is very close to what I want, but not exactly, because: