Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    2

    Default Compare 2 mac folder via smb ?

    Dear support ,

    It's possible to compare (or sync) 2 folders but 1 folder are in another computer mac connected via smb protocol.
    I don't find the possibility to view the sharing folder when a open new session ? I have only a ftp connection possibilty.

    Many thanks
    All the best
    DIP

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,728

    Default

    Can you access the folder on the other computer using Finder?

    In Beyond Compare's Folder Compare, it might also help to click the down arrow to the right of the Browse button, then select Browse File System.
    Chris K Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi Chris,

    Yes , I have access in my finder to the second Mac (like with a favorites acces in the left menu or smb://ServerName/ShareName via go to folder menu).
    But sorry for the disturb, I have find (browse system file) with the little black down arrow near the folder icon ! I have in the dialogue box the possibility to go in the second mac.
    All the best
    Many thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,899

    Default

    Hello,

    So the Browse Using File System is working for you? Great.

    You can also type directly into the Folder Compare's folder path, using the same syntax that Finder's Go menu -> Connect to Server:
    smb://server/folder/
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Lynge, Denmark
    Posts
    112

    Default

    I'd like to share a small tip (which may also inspire the developers to provide a shortcut in the browse menu for folder compare):

    If you have mounted a remote disk e.g. via smb or other attached, non-local disks, you find the mount points in /Volumes
    So, to find the mounted directories, open Folder compare, and type /Volumes in one of the panes, and enter. The mounted directories will appear for you to select as base folder.

    It would be convenient if the /Volumes appeared as one of the little green icons in the "Browse using profile"

    (If it is not already mounted, the method described by Aaron just above this post will still work, gracefully mounting the drive on the fly)
    Last edited by cstern; 29-Sep-2018 at 04:19 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,899

    Default

    Thanks for the feedback. Adding Mounted locations to the Browse Using Profile dialog is something on our wishlist; in the meantime, you can use the small dropdown arrow next to the Browse button to Browse Using File System, which can display the Network locations.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •