X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DouglasVaughan
    New User
    • Aug 2014

Scripting with Data Compare session

I'm fairly new to the more advanced features of Beyond Compare, although I've been using the tool for generic text comparisons for a while.

I'm trying to set up an automated process to compare a variant file against a known baseline. To manually compare these two files I've created a data compare session and it works pretty well. Now I'd like to create a Beyond Compare script to kick the process off silently. Researching through these forums I've formed the understanding that this might not be possible without an extensive work around involving a portable installation and/or some sort of parent/child folder arrangement. Is this accurate?

I'm using Beyond Compare Standard at v3.3.12.18414
  • Aaron
    Team Scooter
    • Oct 2007

This would depend on the customization needed. BC Scripting can call "data-report" with two file names as parameters, and generate a report using the default Data Compare session settings and file format. You can create a new File Format to match on your specific files or file mask, which the topmost match in the File Formats dialog is the one used automatically during a script call (or rules-based compare in the graphical interface).

You would then need to update the Session Defaults for the Data Compare to work for your report. This is the step where, if this needs to change each script call, needs the more extensive customization of the BCSessions.xml.

Does using default session settings, a possible File Format, and the data-report script call work for you?

Code:
    data-report layout:side-by-side options:display-mismatches,line-numbers output-to:"c:\bcreport.html" output-options:html-color "c:\file1.csv" "c:\file2.csv"
    Aaron P Scooter Software

Comment

• DouglasVaughan
      New User
      • Aug 2014