Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    22

    Default Won't launch (4.0.0.18629 - July 28, 2014)

    Permitted the auto-upgrade, now seeing this:

    Code:
    8/8/14 6:17:42.000 PM kernel[0]: CODESIGNING: rejected new signature for architecture 7 of file /Applications/Beyond Compare.app/Contents/MacOS/BCompare
    8/8/14 6:17:42.000 PM kernel[0]: proc 63289: load code signature error 4 for file "BCompare"
    8/8/14 6:17:42.000 PM kernel[0]: CODE SIGNING: cs_invalid_page(0x10000): p=63289[BCompare] final status 0x0, allowing (remove VALID) page
    8/8/14 6:17:42.529 PM gkbisd[137]: Unable to collect cdhash for /Applications/Beyond Compare.app (error code -67028)
    8/8/14 6:17:42.681 PM com.apple.launchd.peruser.502[154]: (com.ScooterSoftware.BeyondCompare.104928[63289]) Exited with code: 217

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Tried removing com.scootersoftware...thing from Preferences folder, and Beyond Compare folder from Application Support. No luck.

    Succeeded in launching old version: Using old build 17036 works, also emits:

    Code:
    8/8/14 6:25:32.495 PM gkbisd[137]: Unable to collect cdhash for /Applications/Beyond Compare.app (error code -67028)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    22

    Default

    .. works and launches GUI, but is expired, so it doesn't work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    22

    Default

    OSX 10.9.4, MBP Retina

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Note: 'letsmove' framework doesn't auto-move the app from my Downloads folder to /Applications

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Running the GUI "BCompare" from the commandline works!

    Code:
    Nicks-Awesome-MacBook-Pro:Volumes nick$ /Applications/Beyond\ Compare.app/Contents/MacOS/BCompare
    2014-08-08 18:32:37.942 BCompare[63601:7503] current bundle path /Applications/Beyond Compare.app
    2014-08-08 18:32:37.942 BCompare[63601:7503] bundle name is Beyond Compare.app
    FindCarbonFontID Error: ATSUFindFontFromName  failed with result -8796
    Still cannot launch via Icon.
    Last edited by ncr100; 08-Aug-2014 at 07:37 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,890

    Default

    Hello,

    Which version of OSX are you currently running?

    After you removed your Application Support\Beyond Compare 3\BCState.xml and other BCSetting.xmls, did they reform when you re-ran the application? It might be best to delete the current .app in Applications, and move these setting files to another location, to get a fresh install. Then re-download the Setup.zip from our website, unpack it, and double click it to have it prompt to move into Applications\.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Hi Aaron, thank you for the attention,

    OSX 10.9.4

    I have only a "Beyond Compare" and not a "Beyond Compare 3" folder in ~/Library. After removing Application Support\Beyond Compare\BCState.xml, BCSessions.xml, and BCPreferences.xml I reran the application. Same behavior occurs - it launches (showed in Dock) and quickly dies.

    After unzipping BCompareOSX-4.0.0.18629.zip and running the app OSX displays the usual "this is from the internet, do you trust it and want me to open it?" dialog. I click Open and unfortunately I see the same launch + die behavior. No Application Support/Beyond Compare folder is created. The application does not prompt, nor automatically move to /Applications.

    This shows in the log:
    8/11/14 8:42:21.433 AM com.apple.launchd.peruser.502[154]: ([0x0-0x3f63f6].com.ScooterSoftware.BeyondCompare[73401]) Exited with code: 217

    Best,
    Nick

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,890

    Default

    Interesting. Please drag the .app into Applications\ manually, then go to your Terminal and navigate inside of the .app:
    Beyond Compare.app/Contents/MacOS/

    and launch BCompare there. Do any additional messages output to the terminal?

    Update: Nevermind, I see your recent post where you already got that output. Let me pass that on to our developer.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,890

    Default

    Have you redownloaded a fresh .zip from our website? You may need to clear browser cache or use a different browser to ensure it's a new zip.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •