Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    U.S. East coast
    Posts
    302

    Default Session menu - click and release causes action

    BC 4.0.0.17677, BC 4.0.0.17887
    Ubuntu 12.04.4

    When I left-click and release on the Session menu, sometimes, instead of the menu simply opening, an action is immediately performed. This doesn't always happen.

    I don't recall this behavior with any of the other menus.
    Last edited by Dave_L; 04-Apr-2014 at 08:54 AM. Reason: added reference to build 17887

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,619

    Default

    Hello,

    You are referring to the "Sessions" toolbar button which drops down and shows the list of sessions to load, correct?

    Which action is sometimes performed when you click the briefcase button? The expected behavior is to expand and slow a list of menu items (with a default selection on the first item, the New folder).
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    U.S. East coast
    Posts
    302

    Default

    Yes, I'm referring to the "Sessions" toolbar button.

    Sometimes click-and-release causes it to expand and show a list of menu items.

    I just did a test, and click-and-release resulted in the New Window action.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,619

    Default

    Would it be possible to get a copy of your Support.zip from the Help menu -> Support; Export emailed to support@scootersoftware.com ?

    Please also include a link to this forum thread in the email. I've tested on a Ubuntu 12.04 vm, but the Sessions button expands the menu, but I am not seeing the behavior you are describing.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    U.S. East coast
    Posts
    302

    Default

    Ok, but that includes some private data, such as file names and SSH keys, so I'll need to go through it first and "munge" some details.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,619

    Default

    Please do review any of the information in the generated .zip. It would have filenames in the MRU, but what ssh keys would you be referring to? It shouldn't include any actual keys, but might contain the path to their file location.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    U.S. East coast
    Posts
    302

    Default

    There's an entry in BCProfiles.xml that looks like an ssh key:

    Code:
    <TFtpDefaultProfile>
      <Global>
        <AddKeysToCache Value="True"/>
          <TrustedKeys>
              <_0 Value="XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:XX=ssh-rsa XXXXXXXXXX...
    ...
    The X's and ... represent munged data.

    I think the value is one of the entries in the ~/.ssh/known_hosts file.

    It's not that I don't trust you guys, I just like to follow good security practices by limiting what info I distribute.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,505

    Default

    Those are the public keys of servers you've connected to. They aren't a security risk; any client that connects to the server will receive it before it tries to log in.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    U.S. East coast
    Posts
    302

    Default

    It occurred to me that I had previously set up a additional Linux "test" user account for running BC.

    I'm emailing you the BCSupport.zip for that user.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    U.S. East coast
    Posts
    302

    Default

    I can consistently replicate the problem doing the following:

    1. Launch BC
    2. Session (menu button) >> New Session >> Folder Compare
    3. Left-click and release on Session menu button

    The last step opens a new BC window.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •