Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Apply patch

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15

    Default Apply patch

    When opening a patch file through the tools menu you can browse the file and in the edit menu choose "Apply patch". Under linux I get the following error:

    sh: /usr/lib/beyondcompare/patch.exe: No such file or directory.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,505

    Default

    Thank you for the bug report. That will be fixed in the next release.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    15

    Default

    In the nightly build from 20140128 it's fixed!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Bucharest, Romania
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I received a similar message on OSX (BC4 for Mac):

    sh: /Applications/Beyond Compare.app/Contents/MacOS/patch.exe: No such file or directory

    --
    BeyondCompare 4.0 beta (build 17451)
    OS X 10.9.1

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,609

    Default

    The nightly release is not widely available, but a few specific users are testing with it for specific bugs we are trying to track down. This should be updated in the next Beta release.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    23

    Default

    When is this feature going to be released? I have BC4 Build 17666 installed and this feature doesn't seem to be working yet.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,505

    Default

    It should be working in 17666. What kind of error are you getting?
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Just not sure how it works. I have a Linux kernel source which I have duplicated (LKS1 and LKS2). Both folders are under GIT source revision control. I make changes to multiple files on LKS1 and commit those changes to GIT. I do a "git diff" to create a patch file of the changes I made. Now I want to apply those changes with BC4 to LKS2. I start out with a folder compare with LKS1 on the left side and LKS2 on the right side. Now I do a "Tools" "View Patch..." and I select the patch file from LKS1. The changes shown on the left folder don't reflect the changes in the patch file. Also, some of the changes are already applied to the right side. I want to see the patch file changes on the left folder and I want to manually apply those changes to the right side.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Looking at this again, it seems that the apply patch only displays the patch file as two panels, with the left panel showing what is removed and the right panel showing what is added. This is completely useless to me. I would like to apply this patch to a folder so I would like to see the patch in the left panel and the right panel should show the folder with all files that will be modified. Left panel should be load patch and right panel should be load folder. If I select a file, then the left panel should show the patch lines that will be added or removed and this should be aligned with the contents in the right panel. This should look exactly like a text compare with copy-to, align, etc. When the patch applies cleanly, the text from the patch should line up with the text from the right panel. If there is a patch conflict, then the text from the patch will not line up with the right panel. The text from the patch should be aligned with the text on the right panel as specified by the patch line number.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,505

    Default

    Thanks for the description of how you want to use it. The View Patch functionality has only been designed as a read only patch viewer right now, and the "Apply" command is a simple wrapper that handles calling the command line patch utility for the entire patch. I don't know that we'll get it into the initial v4.0 release, but I'll add a feature request for making the apply step more interactive; the way that you describe it sounds like a good way to handle it.

    EDIT: I should add that we'd probably have the target folder on the left side, though, since that's the way the patches are pulled apart right now, and generally how we have our version control command lines set up (so newer files are on the right).
    Last edited by ZoŽ; 14-Feb-2014 at 04:38 PM.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •