Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Folders have been synched but still report as not having synched

    I have a user who is using Beyond Compare to synch between a local and a network share. once the synch has completed it says that the files still need to be synched despite the metadata saying the files are the same. Any ideas as to why its reporting this way?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,728

    Default

    Are the file modified timestamps the same after the copy?

    Is the network share provided by a Windows server or is it a different operating system or a network storage appliance?

    Timestamps should be preserved if the network share is provided by a Windows server. Occasionally non-Windows network storage devices don't allow BC to preserve timestamps, this makes files show as different after a copy.
    Chris K Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,728

    Default

    This can also happen if the server is converting the files into symbolic links due to deduplication.

    If files are symbolic links they will have a small arrow icon. BC will not line up a symbolic link with a regular file of the same name using the default settings. To make them line up, select "Session > Session Settings". In the Handling tab, check "Follow symbolic links".
    Chris K Scooter Software

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •