X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ErnieE
    New User
    • Oct 2013

Sad times

I am not sure how I feel about all of this. In my entire career I have used Microsoft technologies and have not had any issues with Beyond Compare. I was introduced to this fantastic product because the (rather large) software company I was working for had a site license for V2 and I have installed either that site lic, or my own personal license more times than I want to count. I find BC so "right" that any other comparison tool hasn't "been right" for me.

As a software professional I completely "get" how hard it can be to chase dozens of targets and a company NEEDS to make reasonable choices to support the platforms that actually make them money.

Within the last year (and even more so in the last 4 months) my career has taken me on a trajectory that moves the vast majority of my development tasks into Linux (Debian 7.1 for Development/Ubuntu 12.04 LTS production servers) and OS-X for iOS/Android platforms. If I still had a Windows 7 VM on my machine the only program I would use is likely BC3.

I have been hoping that Scooter would be able to "do something" to improve this situation, but I guess that "other" platforms are still not generating enough revenue for the company to really give them support. In the last 3-4 years I haven't installed a 32bit OS (for development) and MS does a reasonable job of supporting "old" code. (Heck, Visual Studio was still 32bit the last time I checked.) However... for all production code that I have written in the last 2+ years has been 64bit.