Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default Syncing both ways and not replacing deleted files

    In my workplace I have the same directory on my PC and on a shared network drive. Files can be added/moved/deleted from either location, so naturally I am doing a sync update:all command.

    The issue I'm having is that some of my co-workers are moving/renaming/deleting content on the shared drive and it is now getting duplicated by the sync.

    Is there any way to do a dropbox-style sync where a delete or movement would be updated correctly without resulting in duplicate content?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,677

    Default

    Hi John,

    Beyond Compare can't propagate deletes when syncing in both directions.

    If a one-way sync is suitable, you can use the "sync mirror:left->right" command. It will make the target folder identical to the source folder, this includes deleting files that only exist in the target folder.
    Chris K Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks Chris.

    I was afraid that was the answer. Unfortunately BC is unusable in this case which really sucks.

    Hopefully you can add that functionality soon...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •