Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,677

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BillT View Post
    One more thing ... I understand that menu items are supposed to be modal, but a lot of times the Actions and Edit menu are all grayed out, and I have to click somewhere (anywhere?) just to get the menu items enabled again.
    In the current 15899 build of the Mac version, if a path edit has focus, then commands are disabled, if focus is in the left or right pane then the commands are enabled. This is part of following Mac application design guidelines, but this part of the design guideline can also be confusing, so we might remove this behavior before the final release.

    Edit: Word from our lead developer is there are technical reasons this behavior is unlikely to change.
    Last edited by Chris; 10-Apr-2013 at 10:16 AM.
    Chris K Scooter Software

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BillT View Post
    I'm delighted to hear that there's a way to continue working the way I'm used to, even if it takes an extra keystroke, but I'm not sure why "Just visible" is more confusing than "Just selected"?
    Don't mean to be a pest, but would you consider adding a "Just visible" checkbox similar to the "Just Selected"? Perhaps indented to help make things even clearer (assuming that only visible files can be selected)?

    x Just Visible?
    x Just Selected?
    On a related note, I looked at the scripting feature to see if that could be used to customize behavior (e.g., creating a script to "select all files" before "update right/left"). That would work if scripts could be assigned to menu items, buttons, etc. but at this point it looks like scripts can only be run from the command line -- is that correct?

    My apologies if it sounds like I'm nit-picking. I am, but with good intentions -- I do believe (selfishly I admit) that I think what I'm suggesting would make BC an even better product :-)

    Last but not least, I had been using BC2 on Win to sync with my macbook, but have gradually moved to using BC4 on Mac for the same purpose, and (with the exception of the various crashes on the properties that I already reported), everything seems to be working well!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,677

    Default

    Sorry for the late response to your question.

    Our developers removed the "visible files" behavior as a design decision, it is unlikely to change. However, we will keep track of how many customers request the behavior and revisit it if we have enough requests.

    Scripting is only supported from the command line. It isn't possible to script GUI actions or bind scripts to buttons.
    Chris K Scooter Software

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    Sorry for the late response to your question.

    Our developers removed the "visible files" behavior as a design decision, it is unlikely to change. However, we will keep track of how many customers request the behavior and revisit it if we have enough requests.

    Scripting is only supported from the command line. It isn't possible to script GUI actions or bind scripts to buttons.
    I really hope you'll reconsider. Yesterday I remembered why I never upgraded to BC3 when I forgot the extra step of "Select All Files" and overwrote an entire directory of source code with older versions.

    Luckily I had another copy of the affected files, but the fact is that the lack of this feature makes BC downright dangerous.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,677

    Default

    Beyond Compare does display a preview listing the files and folders to be synced, so you do have some warning about what it will do.

    Also, if there are specific files or folders you don't want synced, you can filter them out to make sure they aren't included in a sync. The quickest way to filter out files or folders is to select them, then right click and use the Exclude command.
    Chris K Scooter Software

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,788

    Default

    Hello Bill,

    For BC3, is there a method to configure it so that your files are excluded using Name Filters, Display Filters, Date Filters, Attribute Filters, or one of the Other Filters types? Is there a logical rule that could be applied to hide these files from the outset, so they are not part of the sync?

    In this instance, in order for BC3 to overwrite the files on the other side, you must have selected a folder with items inside of it (not excluded by any filtering) and then told it to sync based on that selection.

    We have a video that shows this in detail here:
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/video...tionPart1.html
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Watched the video, and frankly only a programmer would find this approach LESS confusing than simple WYSIWYG. (I should know, I are one ;-)

    Filters dont work for me -- as mentioned previously, my main workflow with BC is to sync two directory trees (usually either a drive backup or a source tree merge). For that I'll get a comparison, and then collapse all the directories and then expand them one-by-one so I can visually inspect what's going on, then use sync right and/or sync left to get the trees in sync.

    I need something more dynamic than filters, and I need to be comfortable that I wont get any surprises (i.e., stuff getting updated/overwritten without my knowledge).

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BillT View Post
    ... and I need to be comfortable that I wont get any surprises (i.e., stuff getting updated/overwritten without my knowledge).
    And I would add, without having to think about it too much. That's what I love about the way BC2 works -- if I can see it (may have to scroll, but that's OK), it gets synced -- otherwise not.

    I often use BC under "battlefield conditions" ;-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •