Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    67

    Default "Affect visible files" (plus crash report)

    Aargh! I had forgotten why I stuck w/BC2 and never upgraded to BC3: the lack of the "Affect only visible files" functionality that is lacking in BC3 (and
    now BC4).

    There are a lot of use cases for BC, and one of mine has been using BC
    to keep whole drives in sync, whether it be laptop/desktop, work/home, primary/backup or whatever. This means very long directory/file lists, and one way to keep things organized is to go through these long lists and collapse the few directories that shouldn't be part of that particular sync operation.

    I've attached a screenshot that illustrates my predicament. In this you can see two directories (abcperf & appia) at the top of the list. For a number of reasons, I don't want to sync them to the destination at this time, but with this version of BC there's no straight-forward way to do that:

    - I can exclude the directories, but that's relatively permanent -- I'm going to want to sync them at some point, just not yet. (I do exclude directories that I *never* want to sync, and that's handy, but this is a different use case).

    - I can select the individual directories one-by-one, but that becomes unworkable for a large number of directories.

    With BC2 this is really simple: just click "Synchronize to right" and select "Affect only visible files". (I've attached that screenshot as well for comparison, with BC2 running with Wine).

    Choosing "Session/Sync Base Folders" is even worse, as (yet another) attached screenshot illustrates: I want to sync a couple of dozen files, not 88,000!

    I'm stumped! Is there any way to approach the clean and simple way that BC2 synced directories?

    If the answer is "no", as I suspect, then I'm begging you to bring back the "Affect only visible files" flag.

    FWIW, there are a lot of people who are strongly visually oriented (like me, but also graphic artists and other "creative" types) who are going to be much happier with a visual solution to the problem of syncing files (vs. filters etc. that are "invisible").

    P.S. BTW, the "Sync Base Folders" command doesn't appear to honor the filters of the "parent" Directory Compare.

    P.P.S. Also attaching a crash report that was generated while I was working w/BC4. IT didn't appear to affect anything -- BC4 kept running and was responsive to input.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,584

    Default

    We removed the "Only affect visible files" check box that was in BC2 when BC3 was released because many users found it confusing.

    You can achieve equivalent functionality in BC3 and in BC4 Mac alpha by using selection in the Folder Compare. Expand the folders you want included in the sync (as you would in BC2), then "Edit > Select All Files". Then use one of the "Actions > Synchronize" commands. In the Synchronize confirmation dialog, make sure "Just selection" is checked.

    So the only extra step relative to BC2 is the use of the "Select All Files" command.

    In BC3 "Select All Files" is mapped to the keyboard shortcut Shift+Ctrl+A. In BC4 Mac it isn't assigned a default keyboard shortcut. To assign a shortcut on Mac, select "Beyond Compare > Preferences" from the menu, then go to the "Commands > Folder Compare" section and search for "Select All Files".
    Chris K Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BillT View Post
    P.S. BTW, the "Sync Base Folders" command doesn't appear to honor the filters of the "parent" Directory Compare.
    I've done some testing with BC4 Mac, but when I setup filters in the Folder Compare, then launch the "Sync Base Folders" command, the filters always appear to function correctly in the sync session.

    Can you provide a set of screenshots showing the filter problem?
    Chris K Scooter Software

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,584

    Default

    Regarding the crash report, it looks like it was related to the program options dialog. Is this a repeatable crash for you, or did it only happen once?
    Chris K Scooter Software

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    Regarding the crash report, it looks like it was related to the program options dialog. Is this a repeatable crash for you, or did it only happen once?
    It actually happened a couple (2-3?) times, but I only got the one crash report. I haven't seen it since.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    67

    Default

    After re-testing, you're right. It appears that I hadn't set the filters right.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BillT View Post
    It actually happened a couple (2-3?) times, but I only got the one crash report. I haven't seen it since.
    Oops - just happened again. Still only the one crash report.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    We removed the "Only affect visible files" check box that was in BC2 when BC3 was released because many users found it confusing.

    You can achieve equivalent functionality in BC3 and in BC4 Mac alpha by using selection in the Folder Compare. Expand the folders you want included in the sync (as you would in BC2), then "Edit > Select All Files". Then use one of the "Actions > Synchronize" commands. In the Synchronize confirmation dialog, make sure "Just selection" is checked.

    So the only extra step relative to BC2 is the use of the "Select All Files" command.

    In BC3 "Select All Files" is mapped to the keyboard shortcut Shift+Ctrl+A. In BC4 Mac it isn't assigned a default keyboard shortcut. To assign a shortcut on Mac, select "Beyond Compare > Preferences" from the menu, then go to the "Commands > Folder Compare" section and search for "Select All Files".
    I'm delighted to hear that there's a way to continue working the way I'm used to, even if it takes an extra keystroke, but I'm not sure why "Just visible" is more confusing than "Just selected"?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BillT View Post
    I'm delighted to hear that there's a way to continue working the way I'm used to, even if it takes an extra keystroke, but I'm not sure why "Just visible" is more confusing than "Just selected"?
    One more thing ... I understand that menu items are supposed to be modal, but a lot of times the Actions and Edit menu are all grayed out, and I have to click somewhere (anywhere?) just to get the menu items enabled again.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BillT View Post
    Oops - just happened again. Still only the one crash report.
    Here we go, addl crash reports (it helps to press the "Save" button ;-) and a screen shot following the crash (which isn't really a crash -- I can just select "General" and the window repaints).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •