Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    38

    Default Command line mode?

    I love BC on the command line. This command seems to work, but the error messages scare me a bit:

    $ /Applications/Beyond\ Compare.app/Contents/MacOS/BCompare a a
    TCarbonButton.SetFocus Error: SetKeyboardFocus failed with result -30585
    TCarbonCheckBox.SetFocus Error: SetKeyboardFocus failed with result -30585
    TCarbonCheckBox.SetFocus Error: SetKeyboardFocus failed with result -30585
    TCarbonCheckBox.SetFocus Error: SetKeyboardFocus failed with result -30585
    TCarbonCheckBox.SetFocus Error: SetKeyboardFocus failed with result -30585
    TCarbonCheckBox.SetFocus Error: SetKeyboardFocus failed with result -30585
    TCarbonCheckBox.SetFocus Error: SetKeyboardFocus failed with result -30585
    TCarbonButton.SetFocus Error: SetKeyboardFocus failed with result -30585

    Is there a better way to run BC from the command line?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,503

    Default

    We have a launcher utility to handle this. Technically there's a "Install CLI Tools" command in the "Beyond Compare" menu, but a bug slipped through testing and it doesn't work.

    From the command line run this command:

    sudo ln -s /Applications/Beyond\ Compare.app/Contents/MacOS/bcomp /usr/local/bin/bcompare

    You should be able to use all of BC's normal command line arguments then. Like the known issues list mentions though, scripting is still a bit flaky if it isn't the only thing running.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    38

    Default

    FYI, my mac doesn't have /usr/local/bin. Not a big deal, I'll put it elsewhere, but hopefully your "Install CLI Tools" is aware that the dir might not exist.

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    38

    Default

    I ran this:

    /Applications/Beyond\ Compare.app/Contents/MacOS/bcomp a a

    and it failed silently. The BC icon popped up for a second or two, then disappeared. No output on the terminal.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,503

    Default

    I noticed that today too. It's been a while since it was written, so I don't know why off the top of my head, but it should work if you create the symbolic link to it.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Yup, creating a symbolic link to bcomp and then running it that way fixed it, thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    16

    Default cli help

    I installed using the command above.

    Is there a help command i can use from the command line, tried
    bcompare --help
    bcompare /help
    bcompare /?
    man bcompare

    just opens the app.

    I tried passing two files as well, didn't open them as expected. Appears the app has to be shut first, then it works as expected.
    Last edited by dreadjr; 18-Feb-2013 at 10:04 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    116

    Default

    'bcompare -h' should bring up the usage message.

    'bcompare file1 file2' should open up the two files for comparison. If the app is already open, with an existing window, the comparison will be opened up on that window, and the window should be brought to the front.

    If this is not happening, please create us a list of repeatable steps to recreate the problem.

    David
    David J Scooter Software

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    38

    Default

    "bcomp -h" works for me (prints help info).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •