Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default git difftool regression

    Hi all,
    I've been using git with Beyond Compare 3 Pro on Windows for some time now. Yesterday I updated my git shell and my Beyond Compare to benefit from the new --dir-diff feature.

    Not only --dir-diff doesn't work (Folder Not Available), but difftool no longer works. It launches text merge instead. Any ideas of how to fix this?

    git: 1.8.0
    BC3: 3.3.5 (build 15075)

    git config
    difftool.prompt false
    difftool.bc4.cmd "c:/program files (x86)/beyond compare 3/bcomp.exe" "$LOCAL" "$REMOTE"
    diff.tool bc3
    difftool.bc3.path c:/program files (x86)/beyond compare 3/bcompare.exe

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,609

    Default

    Hello,

    It looks like you have a couple of extra lines in there. You would usually use either .path or .cmd, and both should use bcomp.exe.

    Also, I notice what looks like a small typo (bc4 instead of bc3). We also do not have the "$variables" in our sample configuration, found here:
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo...vcs#gitwindows

    If you back up your current git config file, delete these lines, then run the commands as listed from our KB article, does that get it working for you? Please note the KB article includes instructions for 1.7.6 and newer, or older, versions.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    color.diff auto
    diff.astextplain.textconv astextplain
    diff.tool vs11
    Hello Aaron,
    I've clean it up a bit, here is all I have concerning diff in my .gitconfig.

    difftool.prompt false
    difftool.p4.cmd "c:/program files/Perforce/p4merge.exe" "$LOCAL" "$REMOTE"
    difftool.vs11.cmd "c:/program files (x86)/microsoft visual studio11.0/common7/ide/devenv.exe" '//diff' "$LOCAL" "$REMOTE"
    diff.tool bc3
    difftool.bc3.path c:/program files (x86)/beyond compare 3/bcomp.exe

    Yet, nothing changed. When I difftool a file, 3 way merge is launched. When I run difftool -d, it warns me that "Left" folder doesn't exists.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Just found it. I had an old
    mergetool.bc3.cmd lying around in my system config. I removed it and now it works. Weird that it was conflicting with difftool config... That wasn't a problem before, but with the latest versions it does seem to be an issue.

    Only annoyance left, when I run difftool on many files (branch, dir diff, etc.), it open one after the other many instances of Beyond Compare. I would like one instance of BC3 with many tabs; the same result as when running a diff on a changelist in Perforce... Is this possible?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    2,505

    Default

    This may help: https://github.com/thenigan/git-diffall We haven't tried it here, but someone on Twitter mentioned it worked well with BC.
    ZoŽ P Scooter Software

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I have the same issue than with --dir-diff, is says the left folder doesn't exists.

    So to summarize, git difftool and git difftool <branch> works well but open a new instance of BC for each file, git --dir-diff doesn't work.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11,609

    Default

    --dir-diff is not officially supported, but there are a few other successful reports, here:
    http://theo.im/blog/2012/10/27/direc...-git-difftool/

    or here:
    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...-3-to-use?rq=1

    Do either of these articles help get you going?
    Aaron P Scooter Software

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •