Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Empty folders left on right side.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • DigitalMan
    started a topic Empty folders left on right side.

    Empty folders left on right side.

    Am using scripting to synchronize folders to a backup drive with a scheduled task. I'm finding that empty folders are being left on the backup drive for some reason. Am using

    option confirm:yes-to-all
    load "D:\Projects" "Z:\Projects"
    sync create-empty mirror:left->right

    Should I be doing something different so that when I delete a folder on the left it will remove it on the right?

  • Aaron
    replied
    Correct, a rough sample script can either
    log verbose c:\bclog.txt
    option confirm:yes-to-all
    filter include-protected
    load "D:\Projects" "Z:\Projects"
    sync create-empty mirror:left->right

    Or you can use the interface to save a Folder Compare session with all options (folders, filters, etc) already set, then load that session name:

    log verbose c:\bclog.txt
    option confirm:yes-to-all
    load "Session name"
    sync create-empty mirror:left->right

    Leave a comment:


  • DigitalMan
    replied
    I believe they contain hidden desktop.ini. Can you give an example script of how to do this? Do I just add "filter include-protected" at the top of my script or before each load/sync operation?

    Dan

    Originally posted by Aaron View Post
    Hello,

    If you load the folders in the graphical interface and enable View menu -> Suppress Filters, do the "empty" folders contain Protected operating system files?

    If you want to delete these files, you'll want to update the "filter include-protected" before the load command to include them in the sync step. If excluded, then they aren't part of the sync so they aren't copied or deleted; folders that contain filtered items aren't truly empty so they are also not deleted.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aaron
    replied
    Hello,

    If you load the folders in the graphical interface and enable View menu -> Suppress Filters, do the "empty" folders contain Protected operating system files?

    If you want to delete these files, you'll want to update the "filter include-protected" before the load command to include them in the sync step. If excluded, then they aren't part of the sync so they aren't copied or deleted; folders that contain filtered items aren't truly empty so they are also not deleted.

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X