Folder Compare - starting from scratch each time

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Folder Compare - starting from scratch each time

When comparing to -big- folders with many (I mean many) small files and sub folders, it takes a lllong time before Beyond Compare finishes.

The next time, comparing the same folders again, it starts from scratch taking again half an hour or more whereas maybe 80-90% is the same.

I am not an expert, but I wonder..
    (maybe in some future release) could data of the first comparison not be stored in some kind of Beyond Compare index or database or so?

So, if a 2nd comparison (same folders) is run, Beyond Compare checks the index, let's say similar like the MFT, so it will speed up the comparison?

Again, I am not an expert, I don't know if it is feasible at all.

Just a suggestion.

Hello,

But that requires some form of comparison, which requires loading and visiting all sub-items (compared to many other explorer utilities, which only build the current level as that is all they need to show during navigation). You can control the automation of the scanning in the Session Settings, Handling tab, and choose to only build/scan as you visit into items, but you will have to expand or compare them in order to get a comparison color represented.

Using only quicker scans (timestamp/size) also makes the comparison step faster.

This is a difference between a Refresh and Full Refresh, but this leverages that the initial comparison was already built and loaded into memory, which is required if you close and re-open the window.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

Comment