Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SFTP file upload - how is it determined what Unix permissions to apply to files?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SFTP file upload - how is it determined what Unix permissions to apply to files?

I love Beyond Compare - I've been using it for about 14 years - it's like my Swiss Army Knife. Thanks for such a great tool.

I have a problem kind of outside of Beyond Compare, but I think it could help to clarify some BC behaviour...

I am a developer, working on Windows, using Netbeans as my IDE. I have Netbeans configured to upload files on save to a remote (Linux) server. Netbeans uses SFTP for this. I'm having a problem where the files uploaded to Linux are not group-writable. I did some research and apparently I need to add a umask to the sshd_config file on the Linux server, to specify the default permissions of files uploaded via SFTP. However, when I made this change, it didn't work - uploaded files still have -rw-r--r-- permissions.

So, where does Beyond Compare come into it? Well, if I use Beyond Compare to upload files from my Windows computer to the Linux server (which also go via SFTP), the files get created with the correct permissions: -rw-rw-r-- And it seems that this is the case whether or not I have that umask setting in the sshd_config file. (Yes I restarted sshd on the Linux server after each change to the config file.)
    How is this happening? I'd really appreciate if someone could shed a bit more light on this for me.

Thanks

Edit: Maybe I spoke too soon. I tried again with BC, uploading files via SFTP, but this time to a different Linux server, and they arrive with -rw-r--r-- permissions. So, not group-writable.
    I think I should run through my test again, making sure I don't make any mistakes editing the sshd_config file and restarting sshd. I guess it's also possible that Netbeans is doing something funky regardless.
    Last edited by osullic; 20-Jul-2020, 07:06 PM.

Hello,