Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• INI file Key/Property Grammar Rule

Greetings,

After searching around the forum and throughout the web for an answer and not finding one that solves my problem/I can understand, I've decided to ask for help here.
    So I'm a total noob when it comes to programming but thing is, I'm trying to edit some files to create a translation mod for a game. Basically I have to edit multiple .ini files and when the game updates sometimes there are a few new entries on those files and using a software to compare the new file with the old translated one would be great, and that's why I chose BC 4.

What I'm trying to do is create a grammar rule so that it tells me if there is any difference between the files, but only on the Key names (name=value in .ini files as far as I know), since all values are text shown inside the game and they're all translated, consequently being different all the time. The names on the other hand does not change, so I could use them to track new additions to the game text.
    So far what I've done is:
    • Delimited grammar rule;
    • Text from: "^";
    • To: "=" (the quotation marks are just to specify which terms I've added, they're not used inside BC4);
    • Escape character left blank;
    • Stop at the end of line left checked and unchecked with no difference found;
    • Match character case left checked and unchecked with no difference found;
    • Regular expressions left unchecked;
    • This element is case sensitive left checked and unchecked with no difference found.
    After that when I enable only this rule, GC finds no difference, even tough I've left one line intentionally different between the files.
    PS.: I'm using INI Files Sorted as format (https://www.scootersoftware.com/rules/IniSort.zip).

Any help is appreciated, if I've posted on the wrong section please forgive me.
    Best regards,
    Igor

The file format you listed is for Beyond Compare 2.