Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to recover a workspace?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • How to recover a workspace?

    Today I made a mistake.
    I opened a workspace, for example "pippo" then did some changes, and then I did "Save Workspace As..." and chose "pluto", so a different one!
    So, I destroyed the already existing workspace "pluto".
    I was lucky because I had saved the same sessions in a different way, so it was easy to recover the "pluto" workspace.
    Is there a way to prevent this error, or to make it more difficult to repeat?
    Also, in "*.xml" files, is there information about workspaces?
    The "*.bak" files, when are they created?
    And when they are overwritten?


    Thank You and regards

    Rodolfo Giovanninetti



  • #2
    Hello,

    Workspaces can't be marked as read only, but I'll add this idea to our wishlist. The workspace itself is stored in the BCPreferences.xml (and, if using child sessions, those are in BCSessions.xml). The .bak can be overwritten on close, and are designed to help handle a failed load of setting files, not to revert to older settings. To help restore from earlier, create manual backups using the Tools menu -> Export to back up all of your settings (including preferences and sessions to capture saved Workspaces).
    Aaron P Scooter Software

    Comment

    Working...
    X