Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Delete Orphans from one side

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Delete Orphans from one side

    1)
    I would like to know if it is possible to delete all orphans from one panel.

    After having clicked on "View --> Show Right Orphans"
    I selected all folders and files and deleted it, but it deleted also all other files in the directories (not orphans).

    How can I delete only the orphan files and orphans folders (=empty folders or a folder with only with orphan files)

    2)
    Can I do this in one operation:

    Copy all differences from left panel to right panel
    and delete all orphans from right panel.

  • #2
    Hello,

    1) Using the Show Right Orphans, then Select All and Delete, and in the Delete dialog select only the right side. Or, Show Right Orphans, and Shift+Right Arrow to then select only the right side, then Delete. Folders that have items that are filtered out should remain after the delete command, and only the Orphan, visibly selected items are deleted, unless you have Suppress Filters enabled. Could you send in a full screen screenshot of the view right before you trigger the Delete dialog? You can post here or email us at support@scootersoftware.com with a link back to this forum post.

    2) The Sync Mirror command is likely the command you are looking for. Given a selection or whole view, it will copy in a direction from Source to Target, copying any Newer, Older, Different, or Orphan files, and then delete Orphans in the Destination side. Please carefully review the preview information, as there is no Undo command after the action has been committed. I would suggest testing with test folders first while we figure out why #1 isn't working as expected.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

    Comment


    • #3
      Sorry I cant send you a screenshot of the view right before I trigger the Delete dialog, because I already deleted the files.

      I don't know what I've done when I deleted the right orphans files. I remember that I clicked on the directories of the right orphans to check which files where inside. Beyond Compare showed the correct orphan files but when I deleted the right orphans (selected all folders in the right side then delete), all files were gone.

      Thank you for the sync mirror command .

      Comment


      • #4
        The Delete dialog also has a check box to Included Hidden Items. If this was enabled, that could explain the behavior you are seeing. Please keep an eye out for it next time to see if it is checked.
        Aaron P Scooter Software

        Comment

        Working...
        X