Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Save 'IGNORED' sections in a file upon closing

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Chris
    replied
    Thank you for the feedback. There isn't a method to retain ignored flags when you reload a saved folder compare, and I'm not aware of a good workaround for that scenario. Retaining ignored flags with saved sessions is on the feature wish list for a future version of Beyond Compare.

    Leave a comment:


  • dcm
    replied
    Originally posted by parag010 View Post
    HI,

    Thanks for that.
    Also, I think it would be very useful in the future to have an additional option 'Ignore Permanently' on top as the current 'IGNORE' option only ignores the changes temporarily. Or someway of making the session to remember the 'IGNORE' changes and when the users opens the sames files for comparison, then the users gets asked 'Do you want to load previous ignored differences?' or something similar. It would be really handy.

    Thanks
    Hate to necro a thread this old, but its what popped up in google and I've been struggling with this as well. I'm using the "CTRL+M" shortcut to help run down files, but what I really need is to be able to retain my ignored flags when my folder compare files are reloaded.

    I don't know if I'm just not using the tool correctly, but the grammar suggestion doesn't seem to be what i need because I'm not ignoring repeatable grammar - its more data that can change file to file. When i go through regression testing we produce a lot of output files to compare against known verified data. When we actively change something though, it is going to be different from the verified known. Some lines will change for certain files, others they wont. We can't just say ignore line x containing y for all files, or something like that. We go through each file, review it, accept it or making changes and re-run. When we re-run the regression and re-load the files - I need the reviewed and accepted sections to stay reviewed and accepted.

    An alternative would be an option to bypass reloading files with identical content. It wouldn't be as bad if at least when i reload the folder only files with changes are reloaded. This wouldn't impact files with multiple diffs that have a mixture of diffs accepted/rejected - but it would help cut down on going through already reviewed files that have no new changes.

    If anyone has any tips/tricks to accomplish this regression use case please let me know!

    Leave a comment:


  • Aaron
    replied
    The method we would probably use would be a saved session. In BC3, you can save any comparison as a session from the Session menu. This would work like a bookmark of your comparison, saving which files to compare and the comparison settings used. It can be loaded from the Home screen.

    Leave a comment:


  • parag010
    replied
    HI,

    Thanks for that.
    Also, I think it would be very useful in the future to have an additional option 'Ignore Permanently' on top as the current 'IGNORE' option only ignores the changes temporarily. Or someway of making the session to remember the 'IGNORE' changes and when the users opens the sames files for comparison, then the users gets asked 'Do you want to load previous ignored differences?' or something similar. It would be really handy.

    Thanks

    Leave a comment:


  • Aaron
    replied
    Hello,

    Ignored was designed as a temporary method of ignoring differences. To permanently hide differences, you want to define them as Unimportant:
    http://www.scootersoftware.com/suppo..._unimportantv3

    I'll add your request for a remembered Ignored flag to our Customer Wishlist.

    Leave a comment:


  • parag010
    started a topic Save 'IGNORED' sections in a file upon closing

    Save 'IGNORED' sections in a file upon closing

    Hi,

    I was wondering if there is any way where Beyong Compare would remember the changes that were previosuly marked as 'IGNORED' when comparing 2 files in the past.

    Currently, when I compare 2 files and choose to 'IGNORE' some changes, its fine but when I close the files and reopen the same files for comparison, those changes that were previously marked as 'Ignore', again are highlighted in red. Any way that we can specify BC to remember your selections of ignores?

    Thanks,
    P
Working...
X