Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Syncing both ways and not replacing deleted files

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Syncing both ways and not replacing deleted files

    In my workplace I have the same directory on my PC and on a shared network drive. Files can be added/moved/deleted from either location, so naturally I am doing a sync update:all command.

    The issue I'm having is that some of my co-workers are moving/renaming/deleting content on the shared drive and it is now getting duplicated by the sync.

    Is there any way to do a dropbox-style sync where a delete or movement would be updated correctly without resulting in duplicate content?

    Thanks

  • #2
    Hi John,

    Beyond Compare can't propagate deletes when syncing in both directions.

    If a one-way sync is suitable, you can use the "sync mirror:left->right" command. It will make the target folder identical to the source folder, this includes deleting files that only exist in the target folder.
    Chris K Scooter Software

    Comment


    • #3
      Thanks Chris.

      I was afraid that was the answer. Unfortunately BC is unusable in this case which really sucks.

      Hopefully you can add that functionality soon...

      Comment

      Working...
      X