Finally a suggestion...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finally a suggestion...

I've been using BC for over 100 years now. (ok, just 4 or 5, but it seems like 100) and its a great piece of software, I like it so much in fact, I bought both the windows and linux versions.

Yes, some people think its easier to warez it, but these guys are worth the cash.

Now, normally I don't ever have a need to suggest any suggestions, as you guys stay up nights thinking of ways to improve upon it, but I do have one thats come up quite a bit lately. (past year)

If I'm doing a work for a client and they use a wordpress template.

If its a major change that I need to make to the template/theme they've installed, I'll make changes in several templates files, and I want to keep a record of all the files I changed and on what date.
    So that when the template developer, comes out with a new update, I can just compare the files I changed (and only those files) with the files they changed in the template update.

Now Snapshot, doesn't do this.

In fact, it just takes a snapshot of the whole folder, and tells you which files changed. What I have to do, is take a snapshot of my local folder with the changes, the remote folder before I make my changes, and then the new folder, after I add the template update.

Too much work.

What would be so handy, is if I could just keep track of the files I changed in BC3, by highlight all of the files that I'm changing, then right clicking on them, and click 'track these files' let's say, and it keeps a record of all the files I highlighted. Probably not the best explanation.

Granted, it would be great, if every client allowed me to create an SVN, or GIT account and track their changes at the server level, but eutopia is far away.