Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I Can't make Filters persistent when using context menu compare

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • I Can't make Filters persistent when using context menu compare

    Hi,

    I can't seem to make my filters persistent between sessions when I use the beyond compare windows explorer context menu (Select left, and compare with selected).

    When I use the context menu it always seems to create a new session so saving the filters per session does not resolve the issue.

    I also tried using the eyeglass button on the toolbar and adding my filter to the presets. When I launch beyond compare again from the explorer context menu again, the presets I saved are no longer available from the filter dropdown menu.

    This is very frustrating because I use beyond compare extensively from the context menu and I have to type in the filters every time. If I had a dime for each time I did this....

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Bearslumber

  • #2
    Hello,

    Each context menu or new Folder Compare uses the default session settings. When you change the items in the Eyeglass button dialog, note the bottom of this dialog has Use only for this View dropdown which can be switch to Also Update Session Defaults.

    From the Home screen you can also update the defaults in the Saved Sessions list, Edit session defaults folder, select the Folder Compare, then edit and save here.
    Aaron P Scooter Software

    Comment


    • #3
      Thank you Aaron,

      It turns out my installation was trying to save my personal settings files in "C:\Program Files" rather than in Appdata, and thus everything I set was lost between sessions because "C:\Program Files" (in windows 7) requires admin authorisation to save to it.

      I noticed this thread... http://www.scootersoftware.com/vbull...rmats-on-Close, I followed the instructions and lo and behold my settings are now being saved between sessions.

      I am a happy man now...



      You may want to check whether an uninstall followed by a reinstall corrupts the default user settings?

      Thanks again

      Bear

      Comment


      • #4
        The Uninstall wouldn't remove/delete settings. If this left a BCState.xml in your Program Files directory, it would still be there during a reinstall.
        Aaron P Scooter Software

        Comment

        Working...
        X