Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Folder Compare Results, Merge All Top Level Folders At Once?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Aaron
    replied
    Correct, when you use a Sync command in the Folder Compare, we pop-up a preview dialog that shows a "Just Selection" option, a preview pane of what items are going to be copied, deleted, etc, and the Sync (commit) button. It is important to review this dialog as there is no Undo action in Beyond Compare, so all of these actions would be permanent.

    Just Selection is sticky, so it would remember the last state it was in when used. Is it enabled? What does the preview show it thinks should copy? Only the selected/top item, or is it previewing both folders but then only copies one?

    Leave a comment:


  • tackyjan
    replied
    Originally posted by Aaron View Post
    In the Sync Confirmation dialog, is "Just Selection" enabled?
    Where is the Sync Confirmation dialog? Do you mean the Mirror dialog?

    Leave a comment:


  • Aaron
    replied
    Hello,

    In the Sync Confirmation dialog, is "Just Selection" enabled? What does the Mirror Preview window show as the items it expects to sync if you commit? Do the end results of the sync line up with those previewed?

    Leave a comment:


  • tackyjan
    replied
    Okay let me try to explain and also demonstrate with an actual example:

    Let's say I am comparing the following folder structure:

    Folder1\
    Folder1\Images\
    Folder1\Images\untitled.png
    Folder1\Text\
    Folder1\Text\untitled.txt


    With another structure that is exactly the same except it doesn't contain any files (only folders):

    Folder2\
    Folder2\Images\
    Folder2\Text\


    And then I setup a Folder Compare session are run it. Here is what I see in the BC session tab:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	bcfc.png
Views:	1
Size:	28.3 KB
ID:	76312

    Notice that, by default, the first folder is selected automatically and that there are 2 root folders in the hierarchy.

    Next I click the Mirror Right button for the Images folder and, after confirming here is what I get:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	bcfc2.png
Views:	1
Size:	25.4 KB
ID:	76313

    Notice that the first root folder (Images) is gone since I already mirrored it but now the next folder (Text) is selected and I have to click Mirror Right again.

    In this example there are only 2 root folders so it's no big deal but imagine a scenario where there are like 10+ root folders. I have to click Mirror Right (and confirm) 10 times.

    What I am asking about is if there is a way to prevent having to click Mirror Right for each top level folder in my folder compare sessions.

    I hope I have made my question more clear with this example.

    Thank you.

    Jan
    Last edited by tackyjan; 14-Jan-2015, 01:52 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Aaron
    replied
    Hello,

    Which "Merge" command would you be executing? Are you within our Folder Compare or Folder Merge session type?

    I ask because our Folder Compare, Content Compare command with Results window shows a File list, where you can see files and then view them, but we do not have Merge options in this dialog. Were you running a different command? The Sync -> Update Both command? Or are you in a different session type (Folder Merge)?

    A screenshot might help clarify the exact step/action you are on. If you cannot post here, please feel free to email at support@scootersoftware.com (with a link back to this forum thread for our reference)

    Leave a comment:


  • Folder Compare Results, Merge All Top Level Folders At Once?

    Hello All,

    I have a question about using the Folder Compare results window....

    Lets say I am comparing the following directory structures:

    C:\MyStuff\Documents
    C:\MyStuff\Pictures
    C:\MyStuff\Movies
    and
    D:\MyStuff\Documents
    D:\MyStuff\Pictures
    D:\MyStuff\Movies

    [Note - I have my session configured to only show differences and to auto-expand.]

    and let's say that the Pictures and Movies folders on C: differ from D: and that C: is newer. In this case I want to merge both folders.

    When the comparison is finished the results window shows Pictures and Movies as top-level folders. In order to merge both I have to select Pictures then click "Merge" then select Movies and click "Merge" again. I know I can use the mouse and shift-click both folders to merge at once but if there are many nested folders in the tree view then I can't see the other root folder without scrolling down.

    Is there a way to configure BC so that merge applies to all folders in the current window and not the selected folder?

    Thank you,

    Jan

    P.S. One other quick question... Every time I click "Merge" I get a popup dialog asking me to confirm. Is there a way to turn that off? I tried looking in settings but I did not see anything related to hiding warnings about merges.
Working...
X